Pages: | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |
DoctorWatts
I want to learn the basics of economics. Help a brother out. 2/10/2013 3:32AM Reply | Return to Index | Report Post
So I'm 20 years old and majoring in math. A bunch of my friends studied/study commerce and whenever they talk about anything to do with finance my brain just turns off because I understand so little about what's being said that there's no point trying to engage with it. I figure that educating myself somewhat in this area will probably be useful long term too so I was hoping someone could recommend me some fundamental texts which will give me the basics.

tl;dr Can anyone who has studied economics/commerce please list some good books to read up on it for a complete beginner.
lol lol lol lol
RE: I want to learn the basics of economics. Help a brother out. 2/10/2013 4:33AM - in reply to DoctorWatts Reply | Return to Index | Report Post
Carless Joe Jackson
RE: I want to learn the basics of economics. Help a brother out. 2/10/2013 4:43AM - in reply to DoctorWatts Reply | Return to Index | Report Post
Unversity of Texas will have free courses online beginning next year but in the interim - I believe Princenton and Harvard have a full schedule of free undergraduate courses online currently.
DoctorWatts
RE: I want to learn the basics of economics. Help a brother out. 2/10/2013 4:48AM - in reply to lol lol lol lol Reply | Return to Index | Report Post

lol lol lol lol wrote:

http://www.amazon.com/Economics-One-Lesson-Shortest-Understand/dp/0517548232

Thanks for the input guys! Have you actually read this yourself or are you just posting something you found through google? I don't mind either way, I'm just curious. This looks like it could be a good place to start based on the reviews.
Carless Joe Jackson
RE: I want to learn the basics of economics. Help a brother out. 2/10/2013 4:53AM - in reply to DoctorWatts Reply | Return to Index | Report Post