Rojo just received a call saying that AJ Acosta is in the 1500m final.
Acosta originally missed the final by 3/1000ths of a second. But our very own Rojo posted in this thread:
that there is an NCAA rule saying if there is space on the track athletes timed to the same 100th of a second should all advance to the final.
"Tie for Last Qualifying Position
ARTICLE 8. In the event of a tie for the last qualifying place for a
subsequent race, and assuming positions on the track are available, the tying
runners all shall qualify. If enough lanes are not available, the position(s)
shall be determined by reading the phototiming devices to the 1/1,000th of a
second or lesser fraction, whenever possible, and then by a runoff or drawn
by lot, based on a decision before the meet by the games committee."
Apparently, the meet was not even aware of this rule based on their initially ruling but now AJ is in the finals after Giles Norton of Finishlynx saw Rojo's post.
Here's the Oregon release on AJ NOT making the finals: