Pages: | 1 | 2 |
ouchhh
how to get rid of achy quads from lactic acid 10/25/2008 2:54PM Reply | Return to Index | Report Post
Did a 22 miler at a slow steady pace which was easy aerobically. However surprisingly my quads still kill the next day. I assume that is lactic acid.

1) Anyway to expedite getting rid of that soreness?

2) Did I do something wrong? I usually don't have this problem? Perhaps I went too fast? Not enough fuel? I did have a high mileage week.
lease
RE: how to get rid of achy quads from lactic acid 10/25/2008 3:11PM - in reply to ouchhh Reply | Return to Index | Report Post

ouchhh wrote:

Did a 22 miler at a slow steady pace which was easy aerobically. However surprisingly my quads still kill the next day. I assume that is lactic acid.

1) Anyway to expedite getting rid of that soreness?

2) Did I do something wrong? I usually don't have this problem? Perhaps I went too fast? Not enough fuel? I did have a high mileage week.

My degree isn't in physiology, so we'll have to wait for those folks to weigh in. However, maybe some more info would help them:

Are your quads *heavy* (not necessarily a surprise, finishing a high-mileage week with a 22-miler), or are they *sore*?

Was the 22-miler yesterday (looks like it, from your post)? What did you do the day before that (soreness in the quads often shows up two days later)?

Were you doing any hard hills, yesterday or the day before?

Did you finish the 22-mile run slower than you started it? Did you run it significantly slower than your normal easy pace? (Either of those sometimes leads to soreness.)

Have you gotten the food and sleep that should accompany an increase in mileage? And how significant a jump in mileage are we talking about here--from 80 to 90, or from 60 to 90?

I hope you get good answers from the professionals. These additional data should help that.
i am smart