Pages: | 1 | 2 | 3 |
pansy
Fear of ski lifts; anyone else have this problem? 1/30/2009 4:25PM Reply | Return to Index | Report Post
I've been snowboarding for about 6 years. At first the lifts didn't bother me, but every year it gets worse for some reason. Last year I got on the lift and had to close my eyes the entire way (about a 15 min ride) because if i saw how high i was,i started to feel violently panicked. i had this visceral urge to jump off the lift - I knew obviously that this was the worst think i could do, but it was all i could do to stay on the lift and not do something dumb. Needless to say, i boarded down the mountain and didn't go back up.

I think the main problem is that there is nothing holding me in to the lift - i can go rock climbing, and as long as i'm roped in, i feel fine. Did anyone else have this problem, and if so, how did you deal with it?
telekinesis
RE: Fear of ski lifts; anyone else have this problem? 1/30/2009 5:08PM - in reply to pansy Reply | Return to Index | Report Post
You said you've been snowboarding 6 years... how many times per year, and how many runs do you manage to get in? I can't imagine that someone who snowboards or skis regularly would have this kind of fear. I would've given it up long ago if that were the case. Plus, if you're as afraid of heights as you claim, I don't think you'd try rock climbing and feel fine, especially lead climbing where even with a rope you still fall some.

If it's that bad, I'd bring some kind of safety strap to keep me attached to the chair, just as a security blanket. Do any of the lifts have a safety bar? Does that help? Why not just cross-country ski?
uh_no
RE: Fear of ski lifts; anyone else have this problem? 1/30/2009 5:15PM - in reply to pansy Reply | Return to Index | Report Post
there are restraint bars...

0/10
i have a theorie
RE: Fear of ski lifts; anyone else have this problem? 1/30/2009 5:23PM - in reply to pansy Reply | Return to Index | Report Post