former 800 runner
Shoe Mileage.. may vary? How to tell when you need new shoes? 2/16/2011 10:17AM Reply | Return to Index | Report Post
What kind of mileage do people get out of their shoes? Is there a good way to tell when you need new ones?

I've obviously heard the 400-600 range cited many times, but I feel like I get closer to 800 before I notice I need new shoes.

I've been running in asics 2150's for a few years now, 6'2, 170ish, forefoot strike, run 50-60 per week. Obviously mostly pavement in winter, mostly trails/grass in summer.
forefootstriker
RE: Shoe Mileage.. may vary? How to tell when you need new shoes? 2/16/2011 3:16PM - in reply to former 800 runner Reply | Return to Index | Report Post
it always depends on the runner. his/her weight, foot strike, and what kind of shoe they buy. each show will last differently depending on their weight and cushion.
rhrunner
RE: Shoe Mileage.. may vary? How to tell when you need new shoes? 2/16/2011 3:24PM - in reply to former 800 runner Reply | Return to Index | Report Post
I've put almost 1000 on my pair of Adidas Supernova Sequences and they're still going strong. I'm similar in height and build to you, have been doing 80+ per week for quite some time. More midfoot striker.
Wise Guy
RE: Shoe Mileage.. may vary? How to tell when you need new shoes? 2/16/2011 5:05PM - in reply to rhrunner Reply | Return to Index | Report Post
I'm 5'10" 145 and have gotten about 2000 out of several pairs. I usually stop wearing shoes because the uppers tear up and start cutting my ankles. Or if my legs start to hurt I get new shoes.
Northstarxc
RE: Shoe Mileage.. may vary? How to tell when you need new shoes? 2/17/2011 9:21AM - in reply to former 800 runner Reply | Return to Index | Report Post
I normally just get a new pair every season to avoid foot related injuries. One pair for XC, one pair for track and one for summer. I think its more important not get injured then it is to save a little $.
Good Books