Discus Coach
OTE Discus Help!!! 3/2/2006 5:44PM Reply | Return to Index | Report Post
I'm a HS track coach and last spring I bought my stud discus thrower a really nice discus: OTE High Moment. Very nice, it totally made a difference.

Problem is the aluminum sides are all bashed and dented up now. It was expensive and I don't want to buy a totally new one because the rim is still fine. I can't find a website for OTE and none of my track supplier magazines list any kind of replacement sides for this discus.

Can somebody help me out?
pogo
RE: OTE Discus Help!!! 3/2/2006 6:39PM - in reply to Discus Coach Reply | Return to Index | Report Post
"Eugene, Oregon is not only known as Track town but is home to OTE equipment. OTE stands for Oregon Training Equipment and this company produces some of the world’s finest discs and javelins. The javelins here are all designed by Dick Held who is world renowned for his work on tail flight. All javelins are hand built here as are their discii. I have bought equipment from them in the past and this time I was offered the chance of going around the discus factory. OTE was sold to Gill Athletics who sell their own discus as well as OTE, Hollowood and Obol amongst others."

.I'd contact Gill for a new plate/
Rolling Rock
RE: OTE Discus Help!!! 3/2/2006 8:34PM - in reply to Discus Coach Reply | Return to Index | Report Post
While we're on the topic of disci, what is the difference in throwing feel between the more expensive High Moment/ high rim weight discus versus the cheaper Low Spin discus. All I've seen is that beginners use Low Spin, experts use High Spin. So are all the elites using High Spin. Various throwing websites don't adequately (sp?) answer this question.
nothing
RE: OTE Discus Help!!! 3/2/2006 8:46PM - in reply to Rolling Rock Reply | Return to Index | Report Post
Okay