Four Of The Fastest Men In History To Go Head-To-Head At The 2023 TCS London Marathon

  • First marathon ever to include two men with PBs of under 2:02 and four athletes who have run inside 2:03
  • Defending champion Kipruto and world champion Tola also included in star-studded field

Press Release
February 1, 2023

The 2023 TCS London Marathon elite men’s field will be a landmark occasion when, for the first time in history, two men who have run inside two hours and two minutes will be together on the same Start Line.

Kenenisa Bekele (ETH), the second fastest man ever with a PB of 2:01:41, and Kelvin Kiptum (KEN), the winner of the 2022 Valencia Marathon and the fastest marathon debutant in history (2:01:53) have both been confirmed to race in London on Sunday 23 April.

Article continues below player.

With Birhanu Legese (ETH, PB 2:02:48) and Mosinet Geremew (ETH, PB 2:02:55) also in the field, it means the 2023 TCS London Marathon will also have four of the five fastest men in marathon history on the Start Line.

In addition, the defending champion Amos Kipruto (KEN) and world champion Tamirat Tola (ETH) will also return to London.

Kipruto’s win at last year’s TCS London Marathon was the biggest victory of his career and his first Abbott World Marathon Major triumph. The 30-year-old, who was second at last year’s Tokyo Marathon behind world record holder Eliud Kipchoge and third in the 2019 World Championships, said: “Winning last year’s TCS London Marathon was an incredible experience for me. I am now preparing hard for this year’s race and I can’t wait to return to London as the champion.

“London always has a really strong field and this year is the same so I know I will face a battle to defend my title, but I’m confident and looking forward to it.”

Tola, who won the 2022 World Championships marathon in Oregon, will be one of several men aiming to prevent Kipruto from winning back-to-back titles. Tola, 31, is in a fine run of form over the 26.2-mile distance, winning the 2021 Amsterdam Marathon and finishing third at the 2022 Tokyo Marathon (behind Kipchoge and Kipruto) before winning his world title last summer.

Also in the field is last year’s runner-up Leul Gebresilase (ETH, PB 2:04:02), the second-placed finisher in both 2020 and 2021 Vincent Kipchumba (KEN, PB 2:04:28) and two-time New York City Marathon champion Geoffrey Kamworor (KEN).

The new holder of the Oceanian marathon record Brett Robinson (AUS), who ran 2:07:31 in Fukuoka, Japan, last year, returns to London after finishing eighth last year, while Sean Tobin (IRL) – who mastered snow and temperatures of minus 15C to run the fastest Antarctic marathon in history last December (2:53:33) – makes his traditional road marathon debut in London.

Another man who thrives in the toughest of conditions is 2018 Boston Marathon champion Yuki Kawauchi (JPN) who is also making his TCS London Marathon debut in what will be his 114th marathon. Incredibly, Kawauchi has won 41 of those marathons – with his biggest and most notable by far coming in Boston in 2018, when he proved the strongest in heavy rain and battering winds to cross the line first. By finishing in London, Kawauchi will be eligible for his Abbott World Marathon Majors Six Star Medal for finishing all six major marathons: London, Tokyo, Boston, Berlin, Chicago and New York.

The names of the British men competing in the 2023 TCS London Marathon elite race were announced yesterday and include Sir Mo Farah and debutant Emile Cairess.

See below for the full entry list for the 2023 TCS London Marathon elite men’s race. The men’s and women’s elite wheelchair fields for the 2023 TCS London Marathon will be announced this afternoon (Wednesday 1 February). The elite women’s field will be announced tomorrow (Thursday 2 February).

2023 TCS London Marathon elite men’s field

  • Amos Kipruto (KEN, personal best 2:03:13)
  • Kenenisa Bekele (ETH, 2:01:41)
  • Kelvin Kiptum (KEN, 2:01:53)
  • Birhanu Legese (ETH, 2:02:48)
  • Mosinet Geremew (ETH, 2:02:55)
  • Tamirat Tola (ETH, 2:03:39)
  • Kinde Atanaw (ETH, 2:03:51)
  • Leul Gebresilase (ETH, 2:04:02)
  • Vincent Kipchumba (KEN, 2:04:28)
  • Seifu Tura (ETH, 2:04:29)
  • Sir Mo Farah (GBR, 2:05:11)
  • Geoffrey Kamworor (KEN, 2:05:23)
  • Yuki Kawauchi (JPN, 2:07:27)
  • Brett Robinson (AUS, 2:07:31)
  • Dewi Griffiths (GBR, 2:09:49)
  • Rory Linkletter (CAN, 2:10:24)
  • Chris Thompson (GBR, 2:10:52)
  • Tom Gröschel (GER, 2:11:03)
  • Ben Connor (GBR, 2:11:20)
  • Joshua Griffiths (GBR, 2:11:28)
  • Frank Lara (USA, 2:11:32)
  • Luke Caldwell (GBR, 2:11:33)
  • Weynay Ghebresilasie (GBR, 2:11:57)
  • Phil Sesemann (GBR, 2:12:10)
  • Charlie Hulson (GBR, 2:13:34)
  • Andrew Heyes (GBR, 2:13:52
  • Adam Craig (GBR, 2:13:58)
  • Alex Monroe (USA, 2:14:15)
  • Ross Braden (GBR, 2:14:32)
  • Nick Earl (GBR, 2:14:38)
  • Nigel Martin (GBR, 2:15:19)
  • Ronnie Richmond (GBR, 2:16:59)
  • Nicholas Bowker (GBR, 2:17:35)
  • Alex Milne (GBR, 2:17:40)
  • Josh Lunn (GBR, 2:17:59)
  • Fraser Stewart (GBR, 2:18:40)
  • Matthew Dickinson (GBR, 2:19:23)
  • Emile Cairess (GBR, Debut)
  • Sean Tobin (IRL, Debut)
  • Ryan Forsyth (IRL, Debut)
Want More? Join The Supporters Club Today
Support independent journalism and get:
  • Exclusive Access to VIP Supporters Club Content
  • Bonus Podcasts Every Friday
  • Free Shirt (Annual Subscribers)
  • Exclusive Discounts
  • Enhanced Message Boards