RRW: Fifty-Nine Student-Athletes Scheduled to Double Back For NCAA XC Championships

By David Monti, @d9monti
(c) 2021 Race Results Weekly, all rights reserved

A total of 59 student-athletes (39 women and 20 men) who competed in the NCAA Division I Indoor Championships in Fayetteville, Ark., from March 11 – 13, are scheduled to also compete in tomorrow’s NCAA Division I Cross Country Championships in Stillwater, Oklahoma.  Stillwater is about a three-hour drive due west of Fayetteville.

The University of Arkansas has the most doublers: eight women and four men.  NC State has five women, but no men.

Among the podium finishers in Fayetteville, the following athletes are entered for Stillwater.  Only one event winner, Wesley Kiptoo of Iowa State who won the 5000m, is doubling:

Article continues below player.

Krissy Gear, Arkansas (2nd, mile; 2nd, DMR)
Kennedy Thomson, Arkansas (3rd, mile)
Lauren Gregory, Arkansas (2nd, 3000m; 2nd, DMR)
Quinn Owen, Arkansas (2nd, DMR)
Alyson Churchill, Florida State (3rd, DMR)
Maudie Skyring, Florida State (3rd, DMR)
Bethany Hasz, Minnesota (2nd, 5000m)

Wesley Kiptoo, Iowa State (1st, 5000m)
Waleed Suliman, Ole Miss (3rd, Mile)
Mario Garcia Romo, Ole Miss (3rd, 3000m; 2nd, DMR)
Morgan Beadlescomb, Michigan State (3rd, 5000m)

Not all of the 59 will start tomorrow in Stillwater; scratches are inevitable.

Here is the full list of doublers by team:

WOMEN (39 total) –

Kennedy Thomson
Krissy Gear
Gracie Hyde
Isabel Van Camp
Lauren Gregory
Abby Gray,
Logan Morris
Quinn Owen

NC State:
Hannah Steelman
Kelsey Chmiel
Anna Vess
Katelyn Tuohy
Savannah Shaw

Florida State:
Alyson Churchill
Maudie Skyring
Rebecca Clark

Ericka VanderLende
Alice Hill
Katelynne Hart

Oklahoma State:
Sivan Auerbach
Stephanie Moss
Taylor Roe

Allie Schadler
Kelly Makin
Madison Heisterman

Jami Reed
Amaris Tyynismaa

Individual Athletes:
Bethany Hasz, Minnesota
Mahala Norris, Air Force
Lotte Black, Rhode Island
Kaley Richards, UMass Lowell
Grace Forbes, Rice
Jenna Magness, Michigan State
Nicole Fegans, Georgia Tech
Ashley Tutt, Northern Illinois
Grace Fetherstonhaugh, Oregon State
Loral Winn, Ole Miss
Sintayehu Vissa, Ole Miss
Madeleine King, Ole Miss

MEN (20 total) –

Gilbert Boit
Amon Kemboi
Jacob McLeod
Matt Young

Aaron Bienenfeld
Alec Sandusky

Aaron Wier
Cameron Ponder

Individual Athletes:
Wesley Kiptoo, Iowa State
Waleed Suliman, Ole Miss
George Kusche, Nebraska
Sam Tanner, Washington
Duncan Hamilton, Montana State
Mario Garcia Romo, Ole Miss
Ahmed Jaziri, Eastern Kentucky
Morgan Beadlescomb, Michigan State
Adriaan Wildschutt, Florida State
Shea Foster, SE Louisiana
Ben Veatch, Indiana
Devin Meyrer, Michigan

Want More? Join The Supporters Club Today
Support independent journalism and get:
  • Exclusive Access to VIP Supporters Club Content
  • Bonus Podcasts Every Friday
  • Free LetsRun.com Shirt (Annual Subscribers)
  • Exclusive Discounts
  • Enhanced Message Boards