Mosinet Geremew and Lineth Chepkurui Claim Victories, Matt Tegenkamp and Janet Cherobon-Bawcom Crowned USA 10 km Champions at 2013 Peachtree Road Race

  • submit to reddit

Press Release

ATLANTA, July 4, 2013 – The professional field at the 2013 AJC Peachtree Road Race proved strong as Mosinet Geremew (ETH) and Lineth Chepkurui (KEN) took home victories at the 44th running of the event, with finish times of 28:07 and 32:09 respectively. With more than 80 professional athletes competing, this year’s event boasted the largest professional field in recent history.

For the first time, the 2013 AJC Peachtree Road Race hosted the USA Women’s 10 km Championship and also welcomed back the USA Men’s 10 km Championship for the fifth time in seven years.  Matt Tegenkamp of Portland, Ore. and Janet Cherobon-Bawcom of Flagstaff, Ariz. claimed the 2013 USA 10 km Championship titles with times of 28:25 and 32:45 respectively.

“Both the men’s and the women’s fields were filled with great competitors this year, and we had some exciting finishes in both races,” said Tracey Russell, race director for the AJC Peachtree Road Race and executive director of the Atlanta Track Club.  “Despite the rainy weather this morning, we were so happy to see thousands of runners and walkers kicking off their Fourth of July at the AJC Peachtree Road Race.”

In the Masters’ races, Kevin Castille of Nicholasville, Ky. and Sheri Piers of Falmouth, Maine took the men’s and women’s titles with times of 29:41 and 34:55 respectively.

The morning kicked off with some exciting finishes in the Shepherd Center Wheelchair Division of the AJC Peachtree Road Race, where Josh Cassidy (CAN) and Manuela Schar (CHE) came in first with times of 21:26 and 24:42 respectively.

*MB: Ryan Hall leaves coach Renato Canova
*MB: Who you got on July 4, 2013 at Peachtree – Abdi, Meb, Hall or Teg?

Open Men

1Mosinet GeremewETH2128:07
2Belete AssefaETH2228:09
3Peter KiruiKEN2528:11
4Sammy KitwaraKEN2628:17
5Mike KigenKEN2728:23

 Open Women

1Lineth ChepkuruiKEN2632:09
2Sharon CheropKEN2932:10
3Yebrgual MeleseETH2332:16
4Buzunesh DebaETH2532:35
5Mamitu DaskaETH2932:39

 USA Women’s 10 km Championship

1. Janet CHEROBON-BAWCOM 32:45
2. Stephanie ROTHSTEIN 32:55
3. Maegan KRIFCHIN 33:22
4. Mattie SUVER 33:22
5. Sara HALL 33:29
6. Adriana NELSON 33:52
7. Delilah DiCRESCENZO 34:00
8. Amy VAN ALSTINE 34:03
9. Meghan PEYTON 34:04
10. Katie MATTHEWS 34:06

USA Men’s 10 km Championship

1. Matt TEGENKAMP 28:25
2. Abdihakim ABDIRAHMAN 28:33
3. Shadrack BIWOTT 28:35
4. Bobby CURTIS 28:42
5. Meb KEFLEZIGHI 28:53
6. Luke PUSKEDRA 29:03
7. Tyler PENNEL 29:05
8. Chris BARNICLE 29:07
9. Jacob RILEY 29:14
10. Josphat BOIT 29:14

*Ryan Hall finished just outside the US top 10 as he was 19th overall in 29:16.

Wheelchair Men

1Josh CassidyCAN2821:26
2Joshua GeorgeUSA2921:41
3Krige SchabortUSA4921:50

 Wheelchair Women

1Manuela ScharCHE2824:42
2Amanda McGroryUSA2624:43
3Susannah ScaroniUSA2225:07

Posted in: Other