Re comment above: "This DQ was a clear and obvious one based on the letter of the rules. No need to seek personal info of the official, who is probably either volunteering or making very little money."
Why do you think that raising your arm before the finish line is clearly and obviously a "discredit to the individual or the competitor's school." NFHS 4.6.2
I understand how arguably based on a strict interpretation how that rule could apply, but I don't think you can say that it is obvious based on the letter of the rules.
As mentioned previously NFHS keeps the rules behind a payrolled app, but even the payrolled app doesn't seem to have a notice or explanation about the application of rule 4.6.2 to competitors celebrating their win before the finish line. His celebration at regionals, albeit in a heat with only two of his own teammates, was significantly more pronounced than this recent obe - he pumped both arms and turned and said something to his teamate. I am still confused as to at what point does raising one arm celebration become a discredit to the competitors school and a violation of the rule? I don't believe that simple raising one arm ~5 ft before the finish would be a violation, although every HS runner in Maryland should be warned not to do that. The rules need more clarity.
I also fully agree with respecting the officials. I would be very surprised if the previous regionals DQ decision was not discussed at the highest levels of NFHS. I think it is a fair assumption that the national NFHS supported the indoor regionals DQ based on the similar DQ, for a less pronounced celebration, at outdoor states.