Jim Ryun, Steve Prefontaine, Alan Webb, Jesse Owens, Allyson Felix Among The Inaugural Inductees Into The National High School Track And Field Hall Of Fame

Press Release
February 5, 2018

NEW YORK – The National Scholastic Athletics Foundation (NSAF), a non-profit organization created to support and promote high school-age track and field, today announced the inaugural class of the new National High School Track and Field Hall of Fame.

Jim Ryun and Ian Brooks pose for a photograph during the 111th NYRR Millrose Games at the Armory, NYC February 3, 2018 Image ©ÊRoss Dettman Jim Ryun and Ian Brooks at the 111th NYRR Millrose Games
Image ©ÊRoss Dettman

Featuring the sport’s immortal legends like Jesse Owens and Jim Ryun, to all-time greats like Steve Prefontaine and Mary Decker Slaney, to current Olympic superstar Allyson Felix — the inaugural class will feature 30 athletes, coaches and contributors spanning 11 decades of excellence in high school track and field.

“Our goal in creating a hall of fame for high school track and field is to honor the greatest athletes, coaches, innovators and contributors in high school track and field history,” said James Spier, Executive Director of the NSAF. “The inaugural class of athletes, coaches, and contributors includes icons of the sport and each of these individuals has made a lasting impact on high school track and field. Generations of athletes have been inspired by and have benefited from their historic accomplishments.”

The 2018 class will be inducted during a gala awards dinner on Thursday, March 8, 2018, at the New York Athletic Club. The dinner will take place on the eve of the New Balance Nationals Indoor Championships at the Armory in New York City.

The Hall of Fame selection committee included noted track and field historians and statisticians Mark BloomBob JarvisDave JohnsonMike KennedyJoe LanzalottoMarjorie LarneyWalt MurphyJack PfeiferJack ShepardJim Spier and Tracy Sundlun. The Hall will honor three categories of inductees:

Article continues below player.
  • Athletes: Competitors who have demonstrated exemplary athletic performance while in high school.
  • Coaches: Leaders who have created excellence at the program level, achieving extraordinary results year after year.
  • Contributors: Innovators and game changers. These may include administrators or media members who have elevated high school-age track and field through innovative work and tireless dedication.

The following is the complete list of inductees, including their high school, hometown and year of graduation:

Ted Meredith

Mercersburg Academy, Mercersburg, PA, 1912

Sol Butler

Rock Island HS, Rock Island, IL, 1915

Lee Barnes

Hollywood HS, Los Angeles, CA, 1924

Frank Wykoff

Glendale HS, Glendale, CA, 1928

Betty Robinson

Thornton Township HS, Harvey, IL, 1929

Cornelius Johnson

Los Angeles HS, Los Angeles, CA, 1933

Jesse Owens

East Tech HS, Cleveland, OH, 1933

Helen Stephens

Fulton HS, Fulton, MO, 1935

Eddie Morris

Huntington Beach HS, CA, 1940

Alice Coachman

Tuskegee Prep School, Tuskegee, AL, 1942

Bob Mathias

Tulare HS, Tulare, CA, 1948

Milt Campbell

Plainfield HS, Plainfield, NJ, 1953

Willye White

Broad Street HS, Shelby, MS, 1957

Dallas Long

North Phoenix HS, Phoenix, AZ, 1958

Gerry Lindgren

Rogers HS, Spokane, WA, 1964

Jim Ryun

East HS, Wichita, KS, 1965

Steve Prefontaine

Marshfeld HS, Coos Bay, OR, 1969

Lynn Bjorklund

Los Alamos HS, Los Alamos, NM, 1975

Mary Decker

Orange HS, Orange, CA, 1976

Kathy McMillan

Hoke County HS, Raeford, NC, 1976

Chandra Cheeseborough

Ribault HS, Jacksonville, FL, 1977

Renaldo Nehemiah

Scotch Plains HS, Scotch Plains, NJ, 1977

Michael Carter

Jefferson HS, Dallas, TX, 1979

Kim Gallagher

Upper Dublin HS, Fort Washington, PA, 1982

Alan Webb

South Lakes HS, Reston, VA, 2001

Allyson Felix

Los Angeles Baptist HS, North Hills, CA, 2003


John Dye

Founder, Dyestat.Com

Ed Grant


Joe Newton

York High School, Elmhurst, Il

Don Norford

Long Beach Poly, Long Beach, CA

For more information on the High School Track and Field Hall of Fame or to view detailed biographies of the inaugural induction class, visit nationalhighschooltrackandfieldhof.org.

About the National Scholastic Athletics Foundation, Inc.

The National Scholastic Athletics Foundation, Inc. (NASF)  is a non-profit, tax-exempt 501 c (3) organization founded in 1990 with the mission of supporting high school and junior-aged track and field athletes in the US.  The NSAF conducts national high school competitions, including the New Balance Indoor and Outdoor Nationals; clinics and event-specific development projects as well as various grant programs totaling over $250,000 annually.  For more information about the NSAF, please visit nationalscholastic.org.

Want More? Join The Supporters Club Today
Support independent journalism and get:
  • Exclusive Access to VIP Supporters Club Content
  • Bonus Podcasts Every Friday
  • Free LetsRun.com Shirt (Annual Subscribers)
  • Exclusive Discounts
  • Enhanced Message Boards