Peachtree on the 4th: Hasay and Marielle Hall Square Off, Derrick Joins Field Racing Lagat, Korir, & Kipchirchir

by Peachtree Road Race
June 29, 2017 

Marielle Hall, Chris Derrick added to star-studded start list at 2017 AJC Peachtree Road Race

 ATLANTA – June 29, 2017 – A 2016 Olympian and a three-time U.S. cross country champion are joining the field at the USATF 10 km Championships at the AJCPeachtree Road Race on the Fourth of July in Atlanta.

Article continues below player.

Marielle Hall (Mt. Laurel, NJ), who represented the United States in the 10,000m at the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio, will compete for the national title. Hall, a University of Texas graduate, was the 2014 NCAA Champion in the 5,000m. This will be her first appearance at the AJC Peachtree Road Race.

Shalane Flanagan, Kara Goucher, and Jordan Hasay at 2013 USATF 10,000m Shalane Flanagan, Kara Goucher, and Jordan Hasay at 2013 USATF 10,000m (Flanagan has pulled out of Peachtree)

Also making his Peachtree debut is Chris Derrick (Portland, OR). Derrick won the U.S. cross country title in 2013, 2014 and 2015. At Stanford University, he received All-American honors 14 times. “You can’t ask for more as an athlete than to compete at one of the world’s most historic road races against so many of America’s top distance runners,” said Derrick. “I expect a real battle on July 4th. I hope we can give the fans something special.”

Derrick and Hall join a star-studded field highlighted by five-time Olympian Bernard Lagat and 2016 Olympians Leonard Korir and Shadrack Kipchirchir on the men’s side. 2:23 marathoner Jordan Hasay and U.S. cross country champ Aliphine Tuliamuk lead the women’s field.

The 2017 AJC Peachtree Road Race prize purse of $70,000 will be awarded to top performers in the USA Championship division with the top male and female each earning $10,000.

Men’s Elite Field Women’s Field
Bernard Lagat Marielle Hall
Leonard Korir Jordan Hasay
Sam Chelanga Neely Gracey
Shadrack Kipchirchir Aliphine Tuliamuk
Chris Derrick Sarah Pagano
Andrew Bumbalough Becky Wade
Futsum Zienasellassie Tara Welling
Shadrack Biwott Bridget Lyons
Abdi Abdirahman Jen Rhines
Kirubel Erassa Chelsea Blaase
Jon Grey Maegan Krifchin

*Natosha Rogers, Shalane Flanagan and Christo Landry have withdrawn from this year’s event.

The 48th running of the AJC Peachtree Road Race will take place on Tuesday, July 4, 2017. For more information, visit

Earlier:’s headline incorrectly said Molly Huddle was running. Shalane Flanagan has withdrawn from the race.

Want More? Join The Supporters Club Today
Support independent journalism and get:
  • Exclusive Access to VIP Supporters Club Content
  • Bonus Podcasts Every Friday
  • Free Shirt (Annual Subscribers)
  • Exclusive Discounts
  • Enhanced Message Boards