Four Time Winner Heather Kampf And Jake Edwards Are Back To Defend Their Titles At The 10th Annual Ryan Shay Mile

Press Release
July 17, 2017

Charlevoix, MI —  For the 10th year, on July 22nd at 10:30 AM, picturesque Charlevoix Michigan will be hosting some of the top distance runners from across the country to celebrate the legacy of one of Northern Michigan’s own top distance runners Ryan Shay.  The Ryan Shay Mile has seen Olympians, national champions, collegiate champions, and many runners with ties to the state of Michigan compete in this elite road mile

Charlevoix, located between Lake Michigan and Lake Charlevoix, will provide these athletes with a unique racing experience as one of the culminating events in the week long Venetian Festival.  Finishing on the a spectator lined parade route they will be racing for $4000 in prize money ($1000 for 1st, $500 for second, and $250 for 3rd) provided for by Bergmann Marine who has been the primary sponsor since the inception of the race.

Article continues below player.

Both men’s and women’s races will see previous champions looking to compete for another title.  Heather Kampf a four time winner (2012 to 2015) will return after not competing in last year’s race.  And Jake Edwards on the men’s side has won the previous two Shay titles is returning with a chance to become the only three time winner for the men.  Along with Edwards, Jeff See and Daniel Clark have also won the race twice for the men.

Edwards will have plenty of competition for the top spot.  Nate Brannen, who has represented Canada three times in the Olympics at 1500 meters, has run 3:52 for the mile.  Julian Matthews, who competed for New Zealand in the 2016 Rio Olympics, has run 3:36 for 1500 meters, and Reid Buchanan has a best time of 13:27 for 5000 meters.  There are at least seven athletes who have run a 4 minute mile or a 1500 meters equivalent to that in the field.

While Kampf’s road mile credential’s are hard to beat they should be tested with this year’s field.  Becca Addison has a best of 4:30 for the mile and Maddie Alm has run 4:13 for 1500 meters.  There are three Steeplechase athletes in the field with bests of 9:40 or faster, Katie Landwehr, Alexina Wilson, and Emily Oren.

The course record for the men is 3:55 set by Jeff See in 2010, and the women’s course record holder is Heather Kampf at 4:21 in 2014.

The Ryan Shay Mile started in the summer of 2008 to honor the memory of Ryan Shay.  Ryan passed away on Nov. 3 2007 while competing in the 2008 USA Olympic Marathon Trials in New York City.  Ryan was from Central Lake, Michigan about thirty minutes south of Charlevoix.  A talented runner, who through hard work and persistence, won championships in high school, in college while at Notre Dame, and in the professional ranks.  Ryan was and is a role model for many young people in Northern Michigan and around the country.

Bergmann Marine, located in Charlevoix, Michigan, provides marine sales, service and storage facilities.  This family owned and operated business spans three generations and has been providing service to Northern Michigan for more than twenty five years.

This event is held as part of Charlevoix’s annual Venetian Festival, and in conjunction with the Drenth Memorial 5k/10k road races on the same Saturday morning.  Charlevoix is located in the upper northwestern portion of the lower Michigan peninsula.


Start List – Men:

  1. Jake Edwards, Columbus Running Company, Ohio State University, 2015 – 2016 Ryan Shay Mile Champion, 1500m 3:41, Mile 3:58.
  2. Nate Brannen, Nike, University of Michigan, 3 x Olympian representing Canada, 1500m 3:34, Mile 3:52.
  3. Julian Matthews, Saucony, Very Nice Track Club, Providence College, 2016 Rio Olympics representing New Zealand 1500m, 1500m 3:36, Mile 3:56.
  4. Reid Buchanan, Skechers/Mammoth Track Club, University of Portland, 3 x NCAA All-American, Mile 4:00, 5000m 13:27.
  5. Matt Dorsey, US Air Force 2nd Lieutenant, 2 x NCAA All-American 1500m, Mile 4:00.
  6. Louis Falland, unattached, Cornerstone University, Australia, NAIA Mile Champion, Mile 4:01.
  7. Nick Harris, unattached, University of Colorado, 2017 PAC-12  800m Champion, 1500m 3:42.
  8. Ryan Dohner, McKirdy Trained Elite Team, University of Texas, 3 x NCAA All-American, 1500m 3:46, 5000m 13:45.
  9. Dey Dey, Westchester Track Club, University of Arkansas, South Sudan,  3 x NCAA All-American, Road Mile 3:55, 1500m 3:45.
  10. Henry Sterling, New England Distance Project, Dartmouth College, USATF Championship Qualifier, Mile 4:03 Steeple 8:39.
  11. Morsi Rayyan, unattached, University of Michigan, All-Big Ten, Mile 4:03.
  12. Josef Tessema, American Distance Project, Norfolk State University, Road Mile 4:01.
  13. Zacchaeus Widner, Playmakers, Siena Heights University, NAIA All-American, Mile 4:05.
  14. Alejandro Garcia, unattached, Robert Morris University, 2 x NAIA All-American, Mile 4:07.
  15. Derek Henning, unattached, University of Michigan, Mile 4:15.
  16. Bennett Prud’Homme, Playmakers Elite, Michigan State, Mile 4:15.

Start List – Women:

  1. Heather Kampf, ASICS/Team USA Minnesota, University Of Minnesota, 4 x USA Road Mile Champion, 4 x Shay Mile Champion, Road Mile 4:19.
  2. Becca Addison, Saucony/True Blue Elite, University of Michigan, NCAA DMR Champion, 7 x Big Ten Champion, 1500m 4:10, Mile 4:30.
  3. Maddie Alm, unattached, University of Colorado, NCAA All-American 1500m, USATF Championship Qualifier, 1500m 4:13.
  4. Alexina Wilson, Oiselle, University of Northern Iowa, USATF Championship Qualifier Steeple, Steeple 9:40, 1500m 4:16.
  5. Emily Oren, Oiselle, Hillsdale College, 9 x NCAA D2 Champion, 2016 Olympic Trials Qualifier Steeple, Steeple 9:40, Mile 4:35.
  6. Samantha Johnson, Gazelle Elite, Ferris State University, Mile 4:37.
  7. Kat Lazarchick, unattached, Wake Forest University, All-ACC Mile, Mile 4:41.
  8. Katie Landwehr, unattached, Michigan State University, Big Ten Steeple Champion, 2016 Olympic Trials Qualifier, Mile 4:45, Steeple 9:37.
  9. Margo Richardson, McKirdy Trained Elite Team, Saint Louis University, 3 x Atlantic 10 Mile/1500m Champion, Mile 4:50, 1500m 4:23.
  10. Sarah Reese Bishop, unattached, Auburn University, NCAA All-American 800m, 1500m 4:36.
  11. Jennifer McKenna, unattached, Northwood University, Mile 4:58.
Want More? Join The Supporters Club Today
Support independent journalism and get:
  • Exclusive Access to VIP Supporters Club Content
  • Bonus Podcasts Every Friday
  • Free Shirt (Annual Subscribers)
  • Exclusive Discounts
  • Enhanced Message Boards