Oregon and Cheserek Do It Again – Win 4 x Mile in 16:09 With a 4:11 1st leg!!

by LetsRun.com
April 26, 2014

The University of Oregon men came through as the favorites to win the 4 x mle at Penn Relays today in 16:09.67 – the fourth fastest time ever run at Penn. After a tactical first leg (4:11.4 for freshman Sam Prakel), Oregon superstar Edward Cheserek broke things open over the last 600 of leg #2.

Article continues below player.

It wasn’t like Stanford’s Tyler Stutzman was running poorly on leg #2 for the Cardinal. He in fact was running one of three sub-4 legs on the day (It’s worth noting that all three sub-4s came on leg #2 as many teams decided to stack leg #2). He split 3:59.9 but Cheserek split 3:566.4 to give Oregon a three plus second lead.

On the third leg, 13:18 man Eric Jenkins took over the Ducks. He extended his lead over the first half of his leg before Stanford’s Erik Olson came back on him, but Jenkins 4:01.5 split was a half-second better than Olson’s 4:02.0. As a result, 2013 NCAA 1500 champ Mac Fleet got the baton with close to a four second lead and he was never challenged by Stanford’s Michael Atchoo who split a 4:04.6 to Fleet’s 4:00.4.

Quick Thought #1: After his one was over, we thought to ourselves, can Oregon break 16:00 this year? It would awesome to seem them do it – during the 60th anniversary year of Roger Bannister’s first sub-4. Someone set it up at Oregon.

We weren’t the only ones thinking that: MB: Oregon wins Penn Relays 4 x mile in 16:09 – with 4:11 tactical 1st leg – When will they go for mythical sub 16?

Quick Thought #2: Kentucky’s Keffri Neal impressed us yesterday in the DMR and yet again today. Yesterday, he beat Mac Fleet o the 1200 leg and today the SEC indoor 800 champ, who has a 3:44 pb, ran a 3:58.5 on leg #2 for Kentucky. Might he have a future in the mile?


PL School/Affiliation Mark Athletes ID
1 Oregon 16:09.67 Sam Prakel (4:11.4), Edward Cheserek (3:56.4), Eric Jenkins (4:01.5), Mac Fleet (4:00.4) AA
2 Stanford 16:17.83 Marco Bertolotti (4:11.2), Tyler Stutzman (3:59.9), Erik Olson (4:02.0), Michael Atchoo (4:04.6) AD
3 Villanova 16:19.98 Sam McEntee (4:11.0), Robert Denault (4:04.1), Patrick Tiernan (4:00.0), Jordan Williamsz (4:04.9) AC
4 Kentucky 16:20.58 Robbie Scharold (4:13.6), Keffri Neal (3:58.5), Adam Kahleifeh (4:06.7), Matt Hillenbrand (4:01.8) AK
5 New Mexico 16:22.75 Ross Matheson (4:12.3), Jake Shelley (4:01.5), Sam Evans (4:03.7), Peter Callahan (4:05.3) AG
6 Columbia 16:22.88 Tim Cousins (4:12.9), Daniel Everett (4:02.7), Brendon Fish (4:05.3), John Gregorek (4:02.0) AF
7 Georgetown 16:26.76 Darren Fahy (4:11.6), Andrew Springer (4:05.6), Collin Leibold (4:04.3), Bobby Peavey (4:05.3) AH
8 Indiana 16:27.55 Jason Crist, Nolan Fife, Matthew Schwartzer, Owen Skeete AS
9 Dartmouth 16:27.82 John Bleday (4:12.7), Silas Talbot (4:03.1), Tim Gorman (4:06.0), Steve Mangan (4:06.0) AB
10 Michigan 16:27.98 Jeffrey Sattler, Morsi Rayyan, Mason Ferlic, George Kelly AP
11 La Salle 16:33.50 Zach Sullivan, Nick Ross, Vince Perozze, Alfredo Santana AR
12 Iona 16:42.85 Xavier King (4:11.7), Daniel Clorley (4:11.8), Chartt Miller (4:10.9), Matthew Gillespie (4:08.5) AE
13 Tennessee 16:54.00 Austin Whitelaw, Kyle Walter, Jeremy Dickie, Daniel Tobin AU


Want More? Join The Supporters Club Today
Support independent journalism and get:
  • Exclusive Access to VIP Supporters Club Content
  • Bonus Podcasts Every Friday
  • Free LetsRun.com Shirt (Annual Subscribers)
  • Exclusive Discounts
  • Enhanced Message Boards