I still don’t understand why you are DQd for one step on the line. I’ve never seen this before. The rule is 2 steps and you’re out, not 1. Saying you can’t step on the line with one foot would be like if you touch the lane line in a car for a split second then you get your license suspended.
DQ if competitor steps on the line with one step
DQ if competitor has two consecutive steps with either both feet or a single foot on the line
DQ if competitor steps on the line with three or more consecutive steps with either or both feet
How many times does this need to be repeated recently? I'm amazed how ignorant track fans are of basic rules. I understand there are a lot of them and they vary by level, but I guarantee that football fans are well aware of differences like two feet in versus one foot in for a catch, or being allowed/not allowed to bat a punted football back into the field after it crosses the goal line.
IAAF, USATF and NCAA available online:http://www.usatf.org/Resources-for---/-groups-officials-/Officiating-Resources/Rulebooks---Current.aspx