Where Your Dreams Become Reality

Main Front Page

What's Let's Run.com?


Training Advice

World Famous:
Message Board

Turn Back The Clock!
Today's Top Runners Talk About Their High School Careers

Miler Scott Anderson's Journal

Wejo Speaks

Rojo Speaks

JK Speaks

LetsRun.com Privacy Policy

Contact Us

Advertise on LetsRun.com 
Click Here for More Info


Atlanta Track Club Announces Elite Field for The Atlanta Journal-Constitution Peachtree Road Race

Atlanta, July 1, 2009 Ė True to tradition, a world-class field will line up at the start for the 40th running of The Atlanta Journal-Constitution Peachtree Road Race on Saturday, July 4.  This yearís event also serves as the USA Menís 10 km Championship and the 2009 Professional Road Running Organizationís (PRRO) Race of Champions.  The overall prize purse for the 2009 Peachtree totals $111,300, which includes $30,000 for the USA Menís 10 km Championship.  In addition, two men and one woman competing in the 2009 Peachtree are eligible to receive a $35,000 PRRO bonus*.

ďThe addition of the USA Menís 10 km Championship and the PRRO bonus have made the AJC Peachtree Road Race one of the most lucrative non-marathon road races of 2009,Ē stated Tracey Russell, Executive Director of the Atlanta Track Club.  ďWith our strong elite field and the different races within the big event, the 40th running of the AJC Peachtree Road Race is sure to be one of the most exciting yet.Ē      

The menís field is one of the largest in the eventís history with close to 40 runners toeing the line.  Two runners to watch are Sammy Kitwara (KEN) and Ridouane Harroufi (MAR), both contenders for the $35,000 PRRO bonus.  Kitwara has won four consecutive road races including the Worldís Best 10K (28:25), one of the PRRO qualifying circuit races, and his recent 10,000 m victory at the Kenyan Championships (27:44.46) was the fastest 10,000 m ever run on Kenyan soil.  Harroufi ran his 10 km personal best at the Azalea Trail Run 10 km (28:14) in March and successfully defended his title at the Credit Union Cherry Blossom 10 Mile (45:45), another PRRO circuit event.

The menís field also features newcomer Tadese Tola (ETH).  Tola has two 10 km runs in the top 100 fastest road performances this year, and he recently set a course record with his first place finish at the Healthy Kidney 10 km (27:48) on May 16. 

Top Americans competing for the title of USA Menís 10 km Champion include Abdi Abdirahman, the reigning USA Menís 10 km Champion and Anthony Famiglietti.  Abdirahman finished second in the 2007 AJC Peachtree Road Race (28:11) and Famiglietti ran a personal best at the Gate River Run 15 km (43:16) in March to become the reigning USA 15 km Champion.

On the womenís side, one runner to watch is Lineth Chepkurui (KEN).  Chepkuruiís 32:24 at the Crescent City Classic 10 km is the 22nd fastest womenís performance this year.  She is also in contention for the $35,000 PRRO bonus after qualifying with wins at the Credit Union Cherry Blossom 10 mile (53:32) and Lilac Bloomsday 12 km (38:37). 

The womenís field also features several top runners from last year returning to Peachtree including Amane Gobena (ETH), and Nadia Ejjafini (BRN).  Gobena came in fifth at last yearís event in 33:13, and her times at the 2009 Cooper River Bridge Run 10 km (32:25) and Ukropís Monument Avenue 10 km (32:37) are among the 50 fastest womenís 10 km road performances this year.  Ejjafini, who placed 14th in 2008 (34:30), has three 10 km finishes this year among the 70 fastest womenís times for 2009.  Also returning is Ogla Kimaiyo (KEN), last yearís sixth place finisher (33:30), as well as Neriah Asiba who came in seventh (33:31) in the 2008 Peachtree.

The masters menís field looks strong with last yearís Peachtree Masterís Champion (31:24) and the current USA Masters 10 km Champion, Sean Wade (USA) returning for the 2009 event.  Also returning is Gideon Mutisya (KEN), the 2008 third place masters finisher (31:54).  Two notable contenders for the 2009 masters womenís field include Colleen De Reuck, US Masters Half Marathon Champion and second place masters finisher at the 2008 Peachtree (33:57), and Albina Gallyamova (RUS) who was the third place masters finisher (35:56) in the 2008 event.    

The 40th running of The Atlanta Journal-Constitution Peachtree Road race will take place on Saturday, July 4, 2009.  The race begins on Peachtree Road by Lenox Square and finishes on 10th Street near Piedmont Park.

*If a PRRO eligible male and female runner both win the AJC Peachtree Road Race, the $35,000 will be divided in half between the two athletes.





Tell a friend about this article
(Dont worry we won't email your friend(s) again. We send them a 1 time email)
Enter their email address(es), separated by a comma.
Enter your name:

Don't Worry: We
Back to Main Front Page
Questions, comments or suggestions?Please email the LetsRun.com staff at [email protected]

Save on Running Shoes

Runner's World &
Running Times

Combined Only $22

a Year
Save $87

Running & Track and Field Posters

Search the Web
or LetsRun.com



Advertise on LetsRun.com

Contact Us

Privacy Policy