Where Your Dreams Become Reality

Main Front Page

What's Let's Run.com?


Training Advice

World Famous:
Message Board

Turn Back The Clock!
Today's Top Runners Talk About Their High School Careers

Miler Scott Anderson's Journal

Wejo Speaks

Rojo Speaks

JK Speaks

LetsRun.com Privacy Policy

Contact Us

Advertise on LetsRun.com 
Click Here for More Info


Entrants - Stratton Faxon New Haven Road Race, Host Of The 20k USA Championship

Press Release
September 3, 2009

INDIANAPOLIS - James Carney (Boulder, Colo.) and Jill Swope (formerly Jill Steffens) of Athens, Ga., are set to defend their titles Monday at the USA 20 km Championships in New Haven, Conn. The championships will be hosted by the 31st Stratton Faxon New Haven Road Race.

Also looking to take home the women's title will be 2008 Olympic marathoner Magdalena Lewy Boulet (Oakland, Calif.); Kelly Jaske (Portland, Ore.), the 2009 USA Half Marathon runner-up behind Boulet; and Ilsa Paulson (New York, N.Y.), the fourth-place finisher at this year's USA 7 Mile Championships.

In the men's race, Carney will face 2009 USA Half Marathon third-place finisher Bret Gotcher (Flagstaff, Ariz.) and 2009 USA 25 km runner-up Jason Hartmann (Boulder, Colo.).

In addition to the national championship titles, athletes will be competing to secure positions for the Team USA World Half Marathon Championships to be held October 11, in Birmingham, England.

About the USARC

The USA 20 km Championships is the seventh stop on the 2009 USA Running Circuit (USARC) and will pay $40,000 in U.S. prize money with $8,000 going to the respective champions.

The 2009 USARC is a USA Track & Field road series featuring USA Championships from one mile to the marathon, which attracts the best U.S. distance runners. The 2009 USARC has ten events each for men and women. Boulet currently leads the women's standings with 49 points, while Anthony Famiglietti (Knoxville, Tenn.) leads the men with 39 points.

The first ten U.S. runners earn points at each USARC race (15 for first, 12 for second, 10 for third, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2 and 1), with a final $12,500 grand prix purse ($6,000, $4,000, and $2,500) for the top three men and women point scorers overall. The USARC points at the USA Marathon Championships will be doubled.

The mission of the USA Running Circuit is to showcase, support, and promote U.S. runners. Since its inception in 1995, the USARC and its races have provided over $6 million dollars to U.S. distance runners.

For more information on the 2009 USA 20 km Championships visit www.usatf.org.

Allen Wagner
Andrew Carlson
Anthony Gallo
Bolota Asmeron
Brett Gotcher
Brian Ball
Brian Olinger
Cele Rodriquez
Chris Ellis-Ferrara
Daniel Kanyaruhuru
Eric Blake
Fasil Bizuneh
Fred Joslyn
James Carney
Jason Hartman
Jason Lemkuhle
Jeffery Eggleston
Joeseph Zins
Josh Simpson
JP Mandelburg
Kyle King
Lucas Meyer
Mark Oliver
Mike Owens
Mike Sayenko
Mohamed Trafeh
Patrick Smyth
Patrick Tarpy
Paul Ryan
Peter Gilmore
Robby Young
Robert Rosasco
Ryan Kirkpatrick
Scott Baughs
Sean Quiqley
Sergio Reyes
Seth Pilkington
Gian-Paul Gaccia


Abbi Antablin
Allison Grace
Alvina Begay
Amy Hastings
Becki Michael(Ordway)
Beth Moras
Cassie Slade
Cheryl Anderson
Elva Dryer
Emily Harrison
Erin Flynn
Heidi Westover
Ilsa Paulson
Jane Maxwell
Jill Swope
Kara Storage
Kelly Jaske
Kristen Lemkuhle
Kristin Barry
Magdalena Boulet
Maureen Burns
Rebecca Donahue
Serena Burla
Sheri Piers
Stephanie Lenihan
Tara Storage






Tell a friend about this article
(Dont worry we won't email your friend(s) again. We send them a 1 time email)
Enter their email address(es), separated by a comma.
Enter your name:

Don't Worry: We
Back to Main Front Page
Questions, comments or suggestions?Please email the LetsRun.com staff at [email protected]

Save on Running Shoes

Runner's World &
Running Times

Combined Only $22

a Year
Save $87

Running & Track and Field Posters

Search the Web
or LetsRun.com



Advertise on LetsRun.com

Contact Us

Privacy Policy