Where Your Dreams Become Reality

Main Front Page

What's Let's Run.com?


Training Advice

World Famous:
Message Board

Turn Back The Clock!
Today's Top Runners Talk About Their High School Careers

Miler Scott Anderson's Journal

Wejo Speaks

Rojo Speaks

JK Speaks

LetsRun.com Privacy Policy

Contact Us

Advertise on LetsRun.com 
Click Here for More Info


Carrie Tollefson, Steve Sherer Running Medtronic TC 1 Mile on Thursday in Minnesota
Competitors to race for one of nation's largest one mile prize purses - $25,000 plus time bonuses

by: Running USA Wire

Editor's Note: We've included a 2nd article on the mile that says Carrie Tollefson is unlikely to compete at the end of the first article. Keep scrolling down.

MINNEAPOLIS - (May 2, 2008) - The fourth Medtronic TC 1 Mile takes off along the Nicollet Mall in downtown Minneapolis, Thursday, May 8th and will feature its strongest fields ever, on both the men's and women's sides.

"We could not be more pleased with the level of competition for this year's mile," said Twin Cities Marathon, Inc. race director Brian Mastel. "The fields include two Olympians, a three-time NCAA Champion, an age group world record holder and nine men who have broken the four-minute barrier. We have a couple of athletes in both fields who like to push the pace, so we expect a fast race on the 8th."

Joining two-time champion of the event, Luke Watson, will be Team USA Minnesota runner Brad Lowery, in addition to former Team USA Minnesota runner Ryan Kleimenhagen. The field also includes two runners who've recently been added to the list of sub-four minute milers, Steve Sherer, ranked second in the United States at the mile indoors and Jordan Fife, ranked 6th in the United States at the mile indoors, as well as several runners from Kenya, including Haron Lagat, Vincent Rono, Josephat Kithii, Eliud Njubi and Benson Chesang.

The women's field will feature 2004 Olympian Carrie Tollefson, former NCAA 1500 meter champion Tiffany McWilliams and the top returning runner from last year's race, Colleen Newhart. This year's race will also have a strong international field with such runners as Rose Kosgei, Margaret Chirchir, Meskerem Legesse and Marina Munca.

Men's Championship Wave presented by M&I Bank
1 Steve Sherer, 27, USA (MI), N/A - 3:56.00; broke 4-minutes for the first time in February, ranked #2 in 2008 U.S. indoor mile.
2 Christian Hesch, 29, USA (CA), 3:40 - 4:02; 6th at USA Men's 8K Championships in March
3 Haron Lagat, 24, Kenya, 3:46 - 3:58; ran a 13:36 PR at the Carlsbad 5000 in April.
4 Luke Watson, 27, USA (IN), 3:42.43 - N/A; won the Drake Relays 8K in 23:59 in April.
5 Sean McCabe, USA (TX), 3:57.80-4:03.33
6 Ryan Kleimenhagen, 26, USA (WI), N/A - 3:59.00
7 Vincent Rono, Kenya, 3:37.96 - 3:59.63; 3rd in the Drake Relays mile in 4:06.71
8 Josephat Kithii, Kenya, 3:41.5 - N/A
9 Eliud Njubi, 28, Kenya, 3:38.18 - 3:56.84
10 Aucencio Martinez, USA, 3:40.85 - 4:01.58
11 Jordan Fife, 24, USA (IN), 3:44.06 - 3:59.74; 2-time all-American at Indiana State, ranked #6 at 2008 U.S. indoor mile.
12 Brad Lowery, 25, USA (MN), 3:42.44 - 4:01.67; 9th in the Drake Relays 1500m in 4:16.94

Women's Championship Wave presented by M&I Bank
17 Carrie Tollefson, 29, USA (MN), 4:06.13 - 4:27.95; 2004 Olympian in the 1500m
18 Tiffany McWilliams, 25, USA (AL), 4:06.30 - 4:29.56; 3-time NCAA 1500m champion at Mississippi State
19 Colleen Newhart, 27, USA (IL), 4:19.12 - N/A; finished 4th at last year's TC 1 Mile in 5:08.
20 Marina Munca, 25, Serbia, 4:08.02 - 4:34.67; 7-time all-American at Villanova
21 Alisa Harvey, 42, USA (DC), 4:08.33 - 4:29.65; 9-time all-American at Tennessee
22 Rose Kosgei, 26, Kenya, 4:10 - N/A; ran a 15:21 PR at the Carlsbad 5000 in April.
23 Zofia Wieciorkowska, 45, USA (CT), ran 4:40.40 for 1500m in February to set World Age Group Record for 45-49 year olds.
24 Margaret Chirchir, 29, Kenya, 4:11.69 - N/A; won the Shamrock 8K in Virgina Beach in 26:58.
25 Meskerem Legesse, 21, Ethiopia, 4:03.96 - 4:42.77; 2004 Olympian for Ethiopia
26 Rasa Troup, 31, USA (MN), 4:17:13 - 4:39.5; 2nd at Drake Relays in Steeplechase in 19:51:28

Runners will be battling for their share of the largest prize purse in the history of the event. The 2008 Medtronic TC 1 Mile prize purse is $25,000, one of the largest mile prize purses in the nation, with $4000 to the race champion. As an added incentive, $10,000 will be awarded to the first man and woman to break 4:00 and 4:28, respectively.

Awards for first through third places in the Men's and Women's Championship Wave will be presented by M&I Bank at a special ceremony immediately following the Championship waves at approximately 8:10pm on May 8th. The ceremony will take place inside the M&I Branch at 651 Nicollet Mall.

The 2008 Medtronic TC 1 Mile is also part of USATF MN Team Circuit and prize money will be awarded based on the scoring formula used by the circuit.

For more information about the race, visit: MTCMarathon.org or contact Kristine Smith at (763) 287-3888 x13..

2nd Article on Mile
By David Monti
(c) 2008 Race Results Weekly, all rights reserved

Thursday's Medtronic TC 1 Mile will give 2600 citizen athletes a chance to test themselves at the sport's classic distance, while a much smaller group of elite athletes will be running all-out for significant cash prizes.  It will be the fourth annual edition for Minnesota's most important road mile.

The venue will be Nicollet Mall in downtown Minneapolis.  A mass wave of about 1000 runners will start things of at 6:50 p.m., followed by age-group and championship waves beginning at 7:53 p.m.  The elites, running for a $25,000 prize money purse, will bring the show to a rousing close.  A special $10,000 bonus is on the line for the first man to break 4:00.00 and the first woman to break 4:28.00.

Steve Sherer leads the men's entry list.  The 27 year-old athlete ran 3:56-flat during the indoor season, and finished third in the AT&T USA Indoor Championships at 1500m.  His top challengers will be Kenyan Haron Lagat, the former Texas Tech athlete who won last Sunday's Union-Tribune Race for Literacy 8-K in San Diego.  Lagat ran 3:58.48 during the 2008 indoor season.  Former Notre Dame star Luke Watson also hopes to be in the mix (3:57.83 PB) as do Ryan Kleimenhagen (3:59.00), Vincent Rono (3:59.63), Eliud Njubi (3:56.84), Sean McCabe (4:03.33) and Jordan Fife (3:59.74).  Christian Hesch was scheduled to compete, but is unlikely because of a hip injury.

Olympian and Twin Cities resident Carrie Tollefson was to headline the women's field, but had a recent illness which knocked her out of last Sunday's Payton Jordan Cardinal Invitational.  She probably won't line up for Thursday's mile.  That leaves three-time NCAA 1500m champion, Tiffany McWilliams, as the top entrant.  She's run 4:29.56 for the mile and 4:06.30 for 1500m.  Other contenders include Serbia's Marina Muncan (4:34.67 PB), Kenya's Rose Kosgei (4:10.64 1500m PB), Ethiopian Meskerem Legesse (4:03.96 1500m PB), and Team USA Minnesota's Emily Brown (4:37.58 PB).

The first man and woman will each receive $4,000, the second highest road mile first prize in the United States behind the Continental Airlines Fifth Avenue Mile in New York City.


Tell a friend about this article
(Dont worry we won't email your friend(s) again. We send them a 1 time email)
Enter their email address(es), separated by a comma.
Enter your name:

Don't Worry: We
Back to Main Front Page
Questions, comments or suggestions?Please email the LetsRun.com staff at suggestions@LetsRun.com.

Runner's World &
Running Times

Combined Only $22

a Year
Save $87

Running & Track and Field Posters

Search the Web
or LetsRun.com



Great Running Shoe Deals Nike Lunar Glide $79.99
A very popular innovative Nike shoe on sale now.

Advertise on LetsRun.com

Contact Us

Privacy Policy