Where Your Dreams Become Reality

Main Front Page

What's Let's Run.com?


Training Advice

World Famous:
Message Board

Turn Back The Clock!
Today's Top Runners Talk About Their High School Careers

Miler Scott Anderson's Journal

Wejo Speaks

Rojo Speaks

JK Speaks

LetsRun.com Privacy Policy

Contact Us

Advertise on LetsRun.com 
Click Here for More Info


2008 Mayor's Cup XC This Weekend
by: BAA
October 25, 2008

BOSTON, MA – With 800 participants per year, the Mayor's Cup at Franklin Park in Boston continues to be one of the nation's top open cross country events. This year's event will be held on Sunday, October 26, beginning at 10:00 a.m. The event is presented by the Boston Athletic Association and adidas, and directed by USATF-New England and the Boston Centers for Youth & Families.


The Mayor's Cup offers races for all ages and abilities. Kids can take part in one of three youth events, designed for ages 10-and-under, 11-12 and 13-14, and held from 10:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. Next on the schedule is the Franklin Park 5K, an open race for men and women of all ability levels, at 10:50 a.m. Then, at 11:30 a.m. and noon, respectively, will be the Women's Championship 5K and Men's Championship 8K for the top athletes.


Headlining the championship races are 2006 men's champion Stephen Chemlany (Westchester, NY / KEN) and two-time defending women's champion Aziza Ayilu (Westchester, NY / ETH), both of the Westchester Track Club.


Looking to challenge Chemlany for the men's title will be Houston University alum Stephen Magness (Chino Hills, CA), who owns a PR in the mile of 4:01.02, and North Carolina State alum Stephen Furst (Raleigh, NC). Furst was an NCAA Southeast Region all-regional selection in cross country in 2006.


Ayilu will face a deep and experienced women's field as she attempts to become the first woman or man to win three consecutive Mayor's Cup titles. Samia Akbar (Herndon, VA) is coming off an 18th-place finish at last April's U.S. Olympic Team Trials-Women's Marathon in Boston, and she has twice placed fourth in the Mayor's Cup (2005 and 2006). Mary Cullen (Providence, RI / IRL), runner-up in 2005, and Maureen McCandless (Syracuse, NY), fourth last year, both return looking to improve on their best Mayor's Cup placings. Newcomers Barbara Parker (Tallahassee, FL / GBR), a 2008 Olympian and British record-holder in the steeplechase, and Jess Minty (Blowing Rock, NC), a Division III cross country All-American while at Colby College, will also look to challenge Ayilu.


The Mayor's Cup is open to the public, and race-day registration is available until the start of the races. Proceeds from the event are used to maintain Franklin Park.


Full results and a race report will be available at www.baa.org on Sunday afternoon.

Sunday's schedule of events:

10:00 a.m.       Boys' & Girls' 10-and-under 1.1-mile

10:15 a.m.       Boys' & Girls' 11-12 1.1-mile

10:30 a.m.       Boys' & Girls' 13-14 1.1-mile

10:50 a.m.       Franklin Park 5K

11:30 a.m.       Women's Championship 5K

Noon               Men's Championship 5K


Past Mayor's Cup Champions

Year    Men                                                             Women

2007    Girma Tola (Westchester TC)                                   Aziza Ayilu (Westchester TC)

2006    Stephen Chemlany (Westchester TC)           Aziza Ayilu (Westchester TC)

2005    Jarrod Shoemaker (B.A.A.)                             Kim Smith (Reebok)

2004    Mark Carroll (adidas)                                      Atalelech Keteme (Westchester TC)

2003    Keith Kelly (New Balance)                              Kate O'Neill (Nike)

2002    Keith Kelly (New Balance)                              Kristin Chisum (New Balance)

2001    Sandu Rebencuic (U.S. Army)                       Priscilla Hein (Indiana Invaders)

2000    Francis Kirwa (Life University)                        Sarah Dupre (B.A.A.)

1999    Sammy Nyamongo (Life University)               Christine Junkermann (adidas)

1998    Francis Kirwa (Life University)                        Lesley Lehane (B.A.A.)

1997    Silah Misoi (Life University)                             Kathy Franey (Nike International)

1996    Silah Misoi (Life University)                             Kate Fonshell (ASICS)

1995    Seamus McElligott (ASICS)                            Lynn Jennings (Nike International)

1994    Abidi Bouazza (Westchester TC)                  Lynn Jennings (Nike International)

1993    Brad Schlapak (NYAC)                                   Carmen Troncoso (Nike Texas)

1992    Brad Schlapak (NYAC)                                   Kathy Franey (Reebok Racing)

1991    Andy Ball (Nike Running Room)                     Gwyn Coogan (Nike Boston)

1990    Michael Baugh (HFC Striders)                        Michelle DiMuro (Reebok Racing)


Past Mayor's Cup Team Champions

Year    Men                                                                Women

2007    Boston Athletic Association                            RIADHA/Shoes 4 Africa

2006    Westchester Track Club                                Westchester Track Club

2005    Boston Athletic Association                            Westchester Track Club

2004    Boston Athletic Association                            Boston Athletic Association

2003    Boston Athletic Association                            Boston Athletic Association

2002    Bryn Mawr Running Club                                Boston Athletic Association

2001    Boston Athletic Association                            Indiana Invaders

2000    Reebok Boston                                               Boston Athletic Association

1999    Life University                                                 Syracuse Chargers

1998    Reebok Enclave                                              Boston Athletic Association

1997    New Balance                                                   ASICS Club East

1996    New Balance                                                   Boston Running Club

1995    Life University                                                  Boston Running Club19th Annual Mayor's Cup Cross Country Races to be Held Sunday at Franklin Park


Tell a friend about this article
(Dont worry we won't email your friend(s) again. We send them a 1 time email)
Enter their email address(es), separated by a comma.
Enter your name:

Don't Worry: We
Back to Main Front Page
Questions, comments or suggestions?Please email the LetsRun.com staff at suggestions@LetsRun.com.

Runner's World &
Running Times

Combined Only $22

a Year
Save $87

Running & Track and Field Posters

Search the Web
or LetsRun.com



More Nice Offers:
Nike Lunar Glide Savings Super popular shoe from Nike featuring Flywire and Lunar Foam

*Nike Air Max Moto Sale $69.99 for this shoe from our partner.

Advertise on LetsRun.com

Contact Us

Privacy Policy