Where Your Dreams Become Reality

Main Front Page

What's Let's Run.com?


Training Advice

World Famous:
Message Board

Turn Back The Clock!
Today's Top Runners Talk About Their High School Careers

Miler Scott Anderson's Journal

Wejo Speaks

Rojo Speaks

JK Speaks

LetsRun.com Privacy Policy

Contact Us

Advertise on LetsRun.com 
Click Here for More Info


2007 NCAA XC All Americans Named
November 20, 2007
*LetsRun.com recap of men's meet here, women's meet here

NEW ORLEANS Ė It was a Pac-10 Conference sweep at the 2007 NCAA Division I Cross Country Championships as the Oregon Duck men and Stanford Cardinal women took home the team titles on Monday afternoon.   

The Ducks, who were ranked No. 1 heading into the meet, didnít disappoint as they raced out to a hundred plus point lead early on in the menís 10k race at the LaVern Gibson Cross Country course in Terre Haute, Indiana.  The team race tightened over the final half of the race, but Oregon prevailed to win its first menís title since 1977, defeating second place Iona, 85-113. 

Oklahoma State finished third with Northern Arizona and Wisconsin rounding out the top five in the team results. 

Libertyís Josh McDougal was the top menís finisher as he completed the 10k course in a time of 29:22.4.  The championship was McDougalís first and gave Liberty their second NCAA Division I national champion.  McDougal and Oregonís Galen Rupp were running toe-to-toe through the last 1000 meters before McDougal pulled away for the win.   

Stanford, led by senior Arianna Lambie, won its third straight NCAA Division I cross country title.  Lambie finished ninth to help pace the Cardinal who scored 145 points, defeating both Oregon (177 points) and Florida State (236) on the afternoon.   

Texas Techís Sally Kipyego also successfully defended her 2006 title, breaking the course record in the process.  Kipyego clocked an impressive 19:30.9 to break the previous course record by 18 seconds.  Kipyego now has five national titles to her credit; 2006 cross country, 2007 indoor track (3,000 and 5,000 meters) and 2007 outdoor track (10,000 meters), and the 2007 cross country title.   

In addition to the team and individual titles that were decided on Monday, the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association announced the All-American lists.   

The Pac-10 Conference placed ten women on the All-American list and eight on the menís team.  The Big Ten had the second most on the womenís with seven, while the Big East had seven for the men.   

The 2007 USTFCCCA Division I Menís Cross Country All-Americans:

Augustus   Maiyo   Alabama
Andy   Baker   Butler
Chandler   Goodwin   BYU
Phillip   Reid   Cal Poly
Stephen   Pifer   Colorado
Brent   Vaughn   Colorado
Jacob   Korir   Eastern Kentucky
Andrew   Bumbalough   Georgetown
Matt   Debole   Georgetown
Trent   Hoerr   Illinois
Mohamed   Khadraoui   Iona
Abraham   Ngíetich   Iona
Colby   Wissel   Kansas
Francis   Kasagule   Lamar
Josh   McDougal   Liberty
Wesley   Korir   Louisville
Cory   Thorne   Louisville
Hassan   Mead   Minnesota
Chris   Rombough   Minnesota
Jeremy   Johnson   New Mexico
Lopez   Lomong   Northern Arizona
David   McNeill   Northern Arizona
Patrick   Smyth   Notre Dame
David   Chirchir   Oklahoma State
Ryan   Vail   Oklahoma State
Shadrack   Kiptoo-Biwot   Oregon
Kenny   Klotz   Oregon
Diego   Mercado   Oregon
Daniel   Mercado   Oregon
Galen   Rupp   Oregon
David   Kinsella   Portland
Ahmed   Haji   Providence
Neftalem   Araia   Stanford
Russell   Brown   Stanford
Leonel   Manzano   Texas
Shadrack   Songok   Texas A&M-Corpus Christi
Austin   Ramos   UCLA
Stephen   Samoei   UTEP
Robert   Curtis   Villanova
Seth   Pilkington   Weber State
Christo   Landry   William & Mary
Stuart   Eagon   Wisconsin
Matt   Withrow   Wisconsin
Mark   Korir   Wyoming

The 2007 USTFCCCA Division I Womenís Cross Country All-Americans:

Ali   Kielty   Arizona State
Jenna   Kingma   Arizona State
Lauren   Hagans   Baylor
Diana   Jepchirchir   Coastal Carolina
Jenny   Barringer   Colorado
Sara   Vaughn   Colorado
Carmen   Ballard   Columbia
Maddie   McKeever   Duke
Susan   Kuijken   Florida State
Barbara   Parker   Florida State
Melissa   Grelli   Georgetown
Natalie   Picchetti   Georgia
Angela   Bizzarri   Illinois
Meghan   Armstrong   Iowa
Diane   Nukuri   Iowa
Grace   Kemmey   Iowa State
Lisa   Koll   Iowa State
Erin   Webster   Michigan
Nicole   Bush   Michigan State
Jamie   Cheever   Minnesota
Catherine   Parker   New Hampshire
Brianna   Felnagle   North Carolina
Ilsa   Paulson   Northern Arizona
Nicole   Blood   Oregon
Alexandra   Kosinski   Oregon
Christy   Johnson   Princeton
Danette   Doetzel   Providence
Lauren   Blankenship   Samford
Lauren   Centrowitz   Stanford
Katie   Harrington   Stanford
Arianna   Lambie   Stanford
Sally   Kipyego   Texas Tech
Alex   Becker   Tulsa
Emily   Harrison   Virginia
Tasmin   Fanning   Virginia Tech
Anita   Campbell   Washington
Katie   Follett   Washington
Marie-Louise   Asselin   West Virginia
Keri   Bland   West Virginia
Hanna   Grinaker   Wisconsin
Lindsay   Donaldson   Yale

Tell a friend about this article
(Dont worry we won't email your friend(s) again. We send them a 1 time email)
Enter their email address(es), separated by a comma.
Enter your name:

Don't Worry: We
Back to Main Front Page
Questions, comments or suggestions?Please email the LetsRun.com staff at [email protected]

Save on Running Shoes

Running & Track and Field Posters

Unbelievable interest
ING Orange Savings Account

Sponsor of the NYC Marathon
ING Orange
5 Minute Process to Open an Account
No Minimum Deposit

Search the Web
or LetsRun.com