Falmouth Road Race

Falmouth Road Race

August 15, 2021

41 Year Old Edna Kiplagat and Former NCAA Champ Ben Flanagan Win Falmouth Road Race

Flanaga won by just three seconds over Biya Simbassa while Kiplagat won by a wide margin, coming in 27-seconds in front of Emily Durgin. *Discuss
August 18, 2019

Leonard Korir Becomes First American to Win Falmouth Road Race Since 1988

On a hot and humid day in Massachusetts, Korir finally got the victory he so badly wanted after finishing in the top 3 each of the last 4 years. In the women's race, Sharon Lokedi, the 2018 NCAA 10,000 champ, was the surprise winner and American Sara Hall the even more surprising runner-up.
August 04, 2018

August 19: Des Linden To Serve As Official Starter For The New Balance Falmouth Road Race

Afterwards she will run with the masses to check off one of her "bucket list" races.
August 20, 2017

Stephen Sambu edges Leonard Korir to win 4th straight Falmouth title; Sambu is now winningest man in Falmouth history

Olympian Leonard Korir didn't want to do any of the leading but Stephen Sambu was still able to outkick him and move past Bill Rodgers for the most men's wins in Falmouth history.
August 22, 2016

RRW: Stephen Sambu, Caroline Chepkoech Complete Kenyan Sweep At Falmouth Road Race

Sambu got a convincing win over US 10,000m Olympian Leonard Korir as Chepkoech beat out Betsy Saina. *Full Results
August 11, 2016

August 21: Stephen Sambu And Diane Nukuri Face Deep Field As They Try To Defend Their New Balance Falmouth Road Race Titles

Sambu faces US 10K Olympian Leonard Korir, World marathon silver medalist Yemane Tsegay, Sam Chelanga, Abdi Abdirahman and Aaron Braun. Nukuri is up against Betsy Saina, Kim Smith, Sara Hall, Neely Spence Gracey and Aliphine Tuliamuk-Bolton.
August 16, 2015

Stephen Sambu (32:17) & Diane Nukuri (36:47) Streak to Titles at 43rd Falmouth Road Race

Americans Abdi Abdirahman, Chris Derrick and Meb Keflezighi all had the lead at one point in the men's race but the top Americans were Sara Hall (2nd) and Sam Chelanga (4th). Derrick ended up getting trounced but thinks he's ready to pb at 5000. Keflezighi reveals he recently was forced to walk home in the middle of a 12-mile training run. Post race interviews with Americans Keflezighi, Chelanga, Derrick, and Hall.
August 15, 2015

$5000 Gender Challenge Added To Falmouth For First Time

On average, the men's winning time is 4 minutes and 28 seconds faster than the women's but the women will get a 10 minute head start as the roads are too narrow for both to finish at once. Once the lead women finishes, a clock will start counting down from 5:32 and if a man finishes before then, he gets the money. If not, the women's winner gets an extra $5000.

August 15, 2015

For Neely Spence Gracey, Falmouth Is Farm More Than Just A Race - It's Part of Her Family's History

Her dad Steve Spence, the World Championship marathon bronze medallist in 1991, raced it twice and was second in 1988.

August 13, 2015

RRW: Five Storylines For Sunday's New Balance Falmouth Road Race

Defending champion Stephen Sambu and 2-time winner Micah Kogo lead men's field that has Chris Derrick, Meb Keflezighi, Abdi Abdirahman, Sam Chelanga and Moses Kipsiro. The women are lead by Amy Cragg, Diane Nukuri, Sara Hall, Neely Spence Gracey and Alexi Pappas.

August 17, 2014

Stephen Sambu Breaks Away to Win Falmouth Road Race by 45 Seconds; Betsy Saina Wins Close Affair Over Gemma Steel, Molly Huddle

Sambu made a big move at 4 miles and was all alone for the second half of this race as he rolled to a dominant victory in 31:46 for the 7-mile course. Saina and Steel were still together as they crested the final hill but Saina's track speed won out over the road specialist Steel as she won in 35:56 to Steel's 36:03. Molly Huddle was third in 36:15. Ben Bruce was 4th in the men's race.
August 12, 2014

Jordan McNamara, Will Leer, Ben True, David Torrence And Garrett Heath Lead Deep Field For Falmouth Mile

Women's field led by Morgan Uceny, Gabe Grunewald and Katie Mackey.