November 2: Olympians And Past Champions To Headline 2019 USATF 5k Championships At The Dash To The Finish Line 5k

Defending champion Emily Sisson and three-time Olympian Shannon Rowbury to highlight women’s field at USATF 5 km Championships during TCS New York City Marathon race week

 Olympian and 2017 champion Shadrack Kipchirchir and Olympic gold medalist Matthew Centrowitz to lead men’s field

Press Release
October 22, 2019

Article continues below player.

The 2019 Abbott Dash to the Finish Line 5K and USA Track & Field (USATF) 5 km Championships on Saturday, November 2, will feature seven Olympians and two past champions the day prior to the TCS New York City Marathon and will be broadcast live on USATF.TV as part of the 2019 USATF Running Circuit. Abbott will return as the title partner of the event which features a $60,000 prize purse – the largest of any 5K race in the world.

Emily Sisson is looking to defend her USATF 5 km title after storming to victory last year in a solo run to the finish in 15:38. The two-time United Airlines NYC Half runner-up clocked the fastest-ever debut by an American on a record-eligible course at this year’s Virgin Money London Marathon, finishing sixth place in 2:23:08. She will line up in Central Park against three-time Olympian and World Championship medalist Shannon Rowbury and Olympian and World Championship medalist Emily Infeld.

“I loved my experience at the Abbott Dash and USATF 5 km Championships last year,” Sisson said. “There’s no place like New York City on marathon weekend, and I’m excited to help kick everything off by defending my 5K title on the streets of New York.”

In the men’s field, Olympian Shadrack Kipchirchir will attempt to reclaim his title after taking second in a photo-finish last year. At the 2017 edition of the event, he won his third national title in 13:57. He will be challenged by Rio 2016 Olympic gold medalist and seven-time national champion Matthew Centrowitz, who has had previous success in New York, winning the NYRR Millrose Games Wanamaker mile three times and the 5th Avenue Mile once. Reid Buchanan, a 2019 Pan American Games silver medalist, and Eric Jenkins, the 2017 NYRR Wanamaker Mile and 5th Avenue Mile champion, will also line up.

Following in the footsteps of the professional athletes will be more than 10,000 runners participating in the Abbott Dash to the Finish Line 5K, including top local athletes and runners visiting from around the world. The mass race will offer a $13,000 NYRR member prize purse. John Raneri of New Fairfield, CT and Grace Kahura of High Falls, NY won last year’s Abbott Dash to the Finish Line 5K.

Abbott, the title sponsor of the Abbott World Marathon Majors, will be the sponsor of the Abbott Dash to the Finish Line 5K for the fourth consecutive year. Abbott, a global healthcare company, helps people live fully with life-changing technology and celebrates what’s possible with good health.

The Abbott Dash to the Finish Line 5K annually provides TCS New York City Marathon supporters, friends and families the opportunity to join in on the thrill of marathon race week. The course begins on Manhattan’s east side by the United Nations, then takes runners along 42nd Street past historic Grand Central Terminal and up the world-famous Avenue of the Americas past Radio City Music Hall. It then passes through the rolling hills of Central Park before finishing at the iconic TCS New York City Marathon finish line.

The Abbott Dash to the Finish Line 5K and USATF 5 km Championships will be broadcast live via USATF.TV. The broadcast is scheduled to begin at 8:20am ET with the first race starting at 8:30am ET.

USATF 5 km Championships – Men’s Field

Name Road PR Track PR Twitter Instagram
Obsa Ali N/A 13:31.41i obsali17  
Brian Barraza 13:52 13.38.70 BRazzleDazzle5k BRazzleDazzle5k
Ben Blankenship 13:56 13:33.07 benfblankenship benfblankenship
Reid Buchanan 13:51 13:27.83 reidbuchanan22 reidbuchanan
Donn Cabral 14:14 13:22.19 DonnCabral donncabral
Matthew Centrowitz 14:02 13:00.39 MattCentrowitz mgcentro
Tommy Curtin 13:42 13:23.11   teacurtin
MJ Erb 14:14 13:43.55i Erb_mj Erb_MJ
Willy Fink 14:00 13:31.79 EagleWilly22 eaglewilly22
Sydney Gidabuday 14:14 13:29.31 SydneyGetabooty  
Eric Jenkins 13:44 13:05.85i _EricJenkins _ericjenkins
Stanley Kebenei 13:53 13:42.15i tanuistan 3000msteepler
Shadrack Kipchirchir 13:36 13:18.52 ShadrackKipch16 kipchirshad
Jordan Mann 14:01 13:45.44 jmango_run lawilalang
Kyle Medina 13:55 13:54.87 trackboy_kyle trackboy_kyle
Anthony Rotich 14:13 13:31.59 anthonyrotich1 rotichanthony
Jeff Thies 14:03 13:38.00 jeff_thies jeff_thies
Aaron Templeton NA 13:39.39 T2TEMPLETON t2templeton
Jacob Thomson 13:58 13:34.50 jtcougars8  
Andy Trouard N/A 13:21.07 a_trouard andyyytt
Sid Vaughn N/A 14:01.97 CajunLightning cajunlightning
Clayton Young NA 13:31.79   _clayton_young_


USATF 5 km Championships – Women’s Field

Name Road PR Track PR Twitter Instagram
Caroline Alcorta N/A 15:45.64i C_Alcorta cmalcorta
Aisling Cuffe 16:06 15:11.33 SMASHLING1 smashling93
Emily Durgin 16:05 16:00.93i emily_durgin em_durgin
Amanda Eccleston 16:49 15:26.56 AmandaEcc amandaeccleston1500
Ayla Granados 16:10 16:01.53 AylaConsuela aylaraquel
Emily Infeld 15:27 14:56.33 emily_infeld emilyinfeld
Erika Kemp 15:45 15:28.69 imtinyrik imtinyrik
Shalaya Kipp 16:08 15:54.13 ShalayaKipp shalayakipp
Tansey Lystad 17:08 15:42.22 TanseyLystad tanseylystad
Maggie Montoya 17:43 15:38.21  



Sarah Pagano 15:41 15:11.27 srpagano srpagano
Millie Paladino N/A 16:08.15   millieformiles
Lauren Paquette 15:37 15:14.45 HotPaquettes hotpaquettes
Natosha Rogers 15:39 15:08.29   natosha_rogers
Nell Rojas 17:04 16:28.11 nellrojas nell_rojas_running
Shannon Rowbury 15:36 14:38.92 ShannonRowbury shannonrowbury
Danielle Shanahan 16:03 15:37.27 danishani13 danishani
Emily Sisson 15:38 15:02.10i Em_Sisson Em_sisson_
Jaci Smith N/A 15:28.07i   Jaci_me_rollin_
Paige Stoner N/A 15:28.47 PaigeStoner11 paigestoner11
Jess Tonn 16:03 15:18.85 JessTonn Jesstonn

(i)= indoors

Want More? Join The Supporters Club Today
Support independent journalism and get:
  • Exclusive Access to VIP Supporters Club Content
  • Bonus Podcasts Every Friday
  • Free Shirt (Annual Subscribers)
  • Exclusive Discounts
  • Enhanced Message Boards