Nick Willis Breaks Medtronic TC 1 Mile Record, Pockets $15,000

  • submit to reddit

Sarah Brown Nips Olympian Nicole Sifuentes for Women’s Title

Twin Cities In Motion Press Release
May 9, 2013

Minneapolis, Minn. – Olympic silver medalist Nick Willis extended his season  winning streak to eight races with a record-breaking victory at the Medtronic TC 1 Mile in Minneapolis.  The New Zealand native clocked 3:56.2 to break three-time Medtronic TC 1 Mile champion David Torrence’s 2011 record of 3:58.4.

In the women’s professional race, Sarah Brown of Atlanta, Ga., the 2010 runner-up, edged Canadian Olympian Nicole Sifuentes at the tape in 4:33.3, with Sifuentes clocked at 4:33.4.  Defending champion Heather Kampf of Minneapolis was third with 4:34.1.

More than 3100 runners participated in the 9th annual event which raised $10,000 for the victims of the Boston Marathon bombing.  The event, which raced through the heart of downtown Minneapolis, consisted of seven waves of runners of all ages and paces.

The 30-year-old Willis, who won his silver medal at the Beijing Games in 2008, blasted away from the field in the late-going, but eased his way to the finish line in the final meters despite the $10,000 record bonus.

Article continues below player

“I took the lead with about 450 m to go,” the University of Michigan graduate said.  “I wanted to save something for the end if I needed it.”

Winona, Minnesota native Garrett Heath finished second at 3:57.3.  Macklin Chaffee, of Boulder, Colorado, was third in 3:58.1.  Six men broke four minutes in the event; the top three broke the existing record.

Brown, who met her runner-husband at the 2010 Medtronic TC 1 Mile, needed all 5280 feet of the mile to catch Sifuentes at the tape of the women’s race. Anxious minutes ticked by until Brown was announced the winner.

“I thought, if the wind’s at my back, I want to just go for it,” Brown said.  “My goal was to lead it … [but] I had to maneuver a little bit more than I planned. A road mile is a lot different than a track race. It’s anybody’s game.”

The Medtronic TC 1 Mile was the fifth stop on the inaugural Bring Back the Mile Tour that includes 14 events and one end-of-the-year gala held across the country and throughout the year.

“We had an amazing night,” Twin Cities In Motion executive director Virginia Brophy Achman said.  “From the Friends and Family Wave at the start of the night, to the Corporate Team Challenge, our fundraising for Boston, and the two fantastic professional races that climaxed the night, we feel exhilarated by everything that happened tonight.”

Elite Results: 


    1    27 Sarah Brown              Atlanta        GEO  26   F    4:33.3 
    2     4 Nicole Sifuentes         Plymouth       MIC  26   F    4:33.4 
    3     1 Heather Kampf            Minneapolis    MN   26   F    4:34.1 
    4     5 Gen Lacaze               Gainesville    FLO  23   F    4:35.0 
    5     6 Phoebe Wright            Knoxville      TEN  24   F    4:36.7 
    6    11 Kellyn Johnson           Flagstaff      ARI  26   F    4:37.5 
    7     8 Jamie Cheever            Minneapolis    MN   26   F    4:39.7 
    8    13 Elizabeth Yetzer         Lakeville      MN   25   F    4:40.7 
    9    36 Hannah Wanjiru           Coon Rapids    MN   25   F    4:47.8 
   10    10 Ashley Miller            Lincoln        NEB  24   F    4:48.2 
   11    14 Clerc Simpson            Maple Grove    MN   26   F    4:49.4 
   12     9 Meghan Peyton            Richfield      MN   27   F    4:52.8 
   13    37 Laura Paulsen            Minneapolis    MN   24   F    5:05.7 
   14    25 Andrea Rediger           Plymouth       MN   24   F    5:15.6 


    1    51 Nick Willis              Ann Arbor      MIC  30   M    3:56.2 
    2    57 Garrett Heath            Winona         MN   29   M    3:57.3 
    3    62 MacKlin Chaffee          Boulder        COL  26   M    3:58.1 
    4    52 William Leer             Wayzata        MN   28   M    3:59.3 
    5    60 Craig Huffer             Boston         MAS  23   M    3:59.4 
    6    50 Craig Miller             Colorado Sprin COL  25   M    3:59.7 
    7    58 Scott Smith              Flagstaff      ARI  26   M    4:06.9 
    8    56 Jonathan Peterson        Roseville      MN   24   M    4:08.6 
    9    90 Nahom Mesfin             Flagstaff      AZ   23   M    4:08.8 
   10    61 MacK McLain              Golden         COL  24   M    4:09.6 
   11    80 Elly Sang                Coon Rapids    MN   22   M    4:17.4 
   12    97 Jordan Carlson           Inver Grove Ht MN   23   M    4:19.5

Complete results can be found here.

The 1:59:40 GOAT shirts are here
Posted in: Other