Bank of America Chicago Marathon Awards 2014 Women’s Title To Mare Dibaba

Press Release
October 26, 2016

Mare Dibaba (ETH) is the winner of the 2014 Bank of America Chicago Marathon, the event announced today.

Article continues below player.

Dibaba has been awarded the title following today’s decision from the Court of Arbitration for Sport to uphold the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) appeal in regards to Rita Jeptoo. Jeptoo received a doping ban based on a failed drug test conducted in September 2014.

“It’s gratifying to move on and to celebrate the accomplishments of Mare Dibaba,” said Bank of America Chicago Marathon executive race director Carey Pinkowski. “She delivered solid performances on our course, and she deserves our recognition.”

“Athletes who cheat are not welcome in Chicago,” Pinkowski emphasized. “We, along with our colleagues across track and field, welcome moving forward from our past doping challenges and disappointments. We will continue our work with the Abbott World Marathon Majors to operate an extensive out-of-competition testing program for elite marathon runners, and to do all that we can to reach our collaborative goal of eradicating doping.”

Dibaba, the reigning marathon world champion with a PR of 2:19:52, is now confirmed as the women’s winner of the 2014 Chicago Marathon in 2:25:37.

For more information on the Bank of America Chicago Marathon anti-doping policy click here.

Want More? Join The Supporters Club Today
Support independent journalism and get:
  • Exclusive Access to VIP Supporters Club Content
  • Bonus Podcasts Every Friday
  • Free Shirt (Annual Subscribers)
  • Exclusive Discounts
  • Enhanced Message Boards