Bernard Lagat Wins 3000m at 2011 USA Indoors and Makes it Look Easy

February 26, 2011

Galen Rupp tried to beat Bernard Lagat Saturday night at USATF indoors but Bernard Lagat ran away from him with ease on the final lap and reminded everyone why he was the world 3000m champion last year. 

Flash recap below. More coming.

2011 USA XC champion Brent Vaughn and Aaron Braun did some of the early leading.  

After a 4:20 mile, the pace slowed to 5:28 at 2k, and Bernard Lagat went to the front to keep it honest.

Bernard Lagat WinsSoon only Lagat, Vaughn, Braun and Rupp were in contention. Lagat held the lead for the next 400m, when Galen Rupp went to the front with 600m to go. According to the webcast, the next two laps were each a very respectable 28 and change but Lagat stayed right on Rupp with Aaron Braun just behind Lagat. Lagat struck at the bell (200m to go). He strode to the front and made it look ridiculously easy the last lap. 26.6 the last lap for Lagat and he finished farther in front of Galen than Galen was in front of Braun.

Lagat may be primarily moving up to the 5000m from the 1500m this year, but 3000m may be his best distance.

Lagat's last 800m was 1:53 unofficially according to the webcast.

Results and splits below: *Day 1 Photos here

1 Bernard Lagat Nike 7:57.17            
 2 Galen Rupp Nike/Oregon TC Elite 7:59.91            
 3 Aaron Braun McMillan Elite 8:02.59            
 4 Brent Vaughn Nike 8:09.45            
 5 Scott Smith McMillan Elite 8:18.45            
 6 Jeremy Johnson Brooks 8:21.52            
 7 Jeff See Saucony 8:23.29            
 8 Derek Scott Puma 8:25.22            
 9 Trevor Dunbar Portland 8:29.85            
 DNF Kyle Alcorn Nike              
 DNS Christopher Barnicle New Balance  

Splits from webast:

2:11.62 vaugh leading
3:17 (65)
4:20 mile (aarbon braugh pushing it)
5:28 2000m (lagat to lead after slowed down)
2:44, 2:44 1st 2km
4 guys Vaugh, Braun, Lagat, and Rupp Clear of field
6:33  2400m 3 laps to go Rupp to front  (3 guys still there Braun, Rupp and Lagat)
28 again
26.6 last lap
1:53 last 800

*Trip down memory lane (Lagat Wins 2010 World Indoor 3000m with Ease)

Jenny Simpson Wins Women's 3000m

The other final of note was the women's 3000m where Jenny Barringer Simpson dispatched Sara Hall on the final lap.

1 Jenny Simpson New Balance 9:02.20            
 2 Sara Hall Asics 9:03.91            
 3 Allie Kieffer Sun Elite 9:35.89            
 4 Mindy Sullivan unattached 9:41.22            
 5 Stephanie Pezzullo unattached 9:42.16            
 6 Erin Dromgoole New Balance Boston 9:57.34            

*Day 1 Photos here
More Sunday:
*Results *Schedule *
ESPN Live TV Sunday 4:30-6pm (Eastern) *The Non-TV Stuff Will Be Streamed Live


Tell a friend about this article
(Dont worry we won't email your friend(s) again. We send them a 1 time email)
Enter their email address(es), separated by a comma.
Enter your name:

Don't Worry: We
Back to Main Front Page
Questions, comments or suggestions?Please email the staff at

Runner's World &
Running Times

Combined Only $22

a Year
Save $87

Running & Track and Field Posters

Search the Web



More Nice Offers:
Nike Lunar Glide Savings Super popular shoe from Nike featuring Flywire and Lunar Foam

*Nike Air Max Moto Sale $69.99 for this shoe from our partner.

Back To Top