Results of the 2011 Zatopek 10k: Emmanuel Bett Wins

December 10, 2011

Results from the 51st Zatopek:10 in Australia below.

Emmanuel Bett (26:51, 1 spot behind Galen Rupp in Brussels earlier this year) got the narrow win over Bitan Karoki who won the Stanford 10,000m in May.

Halfway was hit in 13:56 and the modest pace had dropped Aussie Craig Mottram. Australian record holder Ben St. Lawrence and former NCAA star David McNeill hung with the three Kenyan stars (Bett, Karoki, and 2008 Olympic bronze medallist Micah Kogo) a bit longer but the three Kenyans raced for the title the final 700m. Bett was too good for Karoki.

Ben St. Lawrence all but officially secured his spot on the Australian Olympic team by winning his first Aussie 10,000m title and afterwards told the AAP, "If it wasn't our Olympic trial and there wasn't so much at stake I definitely would have gone after them and might have been able to hang on. But if I blew up ... that's the Olympics almost out the window."
*Melbourne Herald: Mixed bag for Ben St Lawrence and Craig Mottram in Zatopek:10
*Ben St. Lawrence Wins Aussie Title, Comes Closer to Securing Olympic Spot
*IAAF Recap of Race
*Full Meet Results

Event 42  Men 10000 Meter Run Open
    Name                    Year Team                    Finals 
  1       Emmanuel Bett          KENYA                 27:39.33  
  2       Bitan Karoki        90 KENYA                 27:40.11  
  3       Micah Kogo          90 KENYA                 27:50.50  
  4       Ben St Lawrence     81 NSW                   28:01.68  
  5       David McNeill       86 VIC                   28:12.66  
  6       Harry Summers       90 NSW                   28:39.04  
  7       Craig Mottram       80 VIC                   28:52.20  
  8       Liam Adams          86 VIC                   29:03.19  
  9       Jeffrey Hunt        82 NSW                   29:28.62  
 10       Bradley Croker      80 ACT                   29:48.40  
 11       Chris Hamer         88 VIC                   29:51.54  
 12       Jackson Elliott     82 QLD                   30:08.26  
 13       Chris Hartley       83 SA                    30:17.69  
 14       Russell Dessaix-Ch  90 NSW                   30:29.97  
 15       Adam Didyk          81 SA                    30:36.48  
 16       Daniel Hornery      80 VIC                   30:40.93  
 17       Mark Kirwan         85 VIC                   30:52.30  
 18       Josh Harris*        90 TAS                   30:57.42  
 19       Benjamin Toomey     85 VIC                   31:10.01  
 20       Steve Kelly         88 VIC                   32:31.62  
 --       Nick McCormick         GBR                        DNF  
 --       Luke Kipkosgei      75 KENYA                      DNF  
 --       Cale Bowd*          89 NSW                        DNF    

*Full Meet Results


Tell a friend about this article
(Dont worry we won't email your friend(s) again. We send them a 1 time email)
Enter their email address(es), separated by a comma.
Enter your name:

Don't Worry: We
Back to Main Front Page
Questions, comments or suggestions?Please email the staff at

Runner's World &
Running Times

Combined Only $22

a Year
Save $87

Running & Track and Field Posters

Search the Web



Running Shoe Savings: Nike Lunar Glide 20% Off
Super popular shoe from Nike featuring Flywire and Lunar Foam

Back To Top