Past Race Champions Return To Steamboat Classic 4 Mile

Press Release

PEORIA, Ill. - (June 9, 2010) - The 37th edition of the Steamboat Classic 4 Mile in downtown Peoria on Saturday, June 19 promises some high-powered international road racing, with top athletes vying for a potential prize purse of $40,000. Past champions and five Olympians are expected, plus two runners, Bev Enslow and Jerry Kokesh, will continue their streak of 37 consecutive Steamboat Classic races.

Included in the men's and women's professional Steamboat fields are several former Steamboat champions: 2006-07 champion John Korir (Kenya), 2008-09 champion Ridouane Harroufi (Morocco), 2005 champion Shadrack Kosgei (Kenya) and 2007 women's champion Rehima Kedir (Ethiopia).

Likely challengers to Kedir are: Olympians Rene Kalmer (South Africa) and Diane Nukuri-Johnson (Burundi), Adriana Pirtea (Romania) - runner-up at the 2008 Chicago Marathon, Mari Ozaki (Japan) who has represented her country at the IAAF World Championships and 2010 LA Marathon champion Edna Kiplagat and Jelliah Tinega (Kenya)

Along with the clash of past men's champions - Kosgei, Korir and defending champion Harroufi, the men's field also includes Kenyans Peter Kamais (2010 NYC Half champion), Haron Lagat and Philemon Terer; John Yuda (Tanzania); British Olympian Andrew Lemoncello and Americans Jorge Torres (2008 Olympian), Antonio Vega (2010 USA Half-Marathon champion) and Ian Burrell.

The 2010 Steamboat Classic 4 Mile prize purse, with time and record bonuses, could exceed $40,000. The top 5 per gender will receive $4000, $2500, $2000, $1000 and $1000 respectively.

Non-cumulative time bonuses for any athlete finishing in places 6th through 25th are available, unless precluded in doing so by high school or NCAA rules, per the following: $400 (sub-18:30 - men and sub-21:00 - women) and $200 (sub-19:00 - men and sub-21:30 - women).

There are also world / course, U.S. and Masters record bonuses. For 2010, course / world record bonuses to the first man breaking 17:24 (Josphat Machuka, Steamboat Classic, 1995) and/or the first woman breaking 19:28 (Delillah Asiago, Steamboat Classic, 1995) will be $4000.

The Michael Sonnemaker Award: U.S. record bonus to the first man breaking 17:39 (Gerard Donakowski, Steamboat Classic, 1986), and/or the first woman breaking 19:59 (Colleen De Reuck, Steamboat Classic, 2002) will be $1000 (must be a U.S. citizen to be eligible). An American athlete setting AR and WRs will receive both AR and WR bonus awards.

Times from the Michael Forbes Trolley Run in Kansas City of 17:27 by Ryan Wilson in 1998 and 19:41 by Elva Dryer in 2001 were not run on a record standard course.

The first man breaking the current Masters world record of 18:23 (Pierre Levisse, Steamboat Classic, 1992) and/or the first woman breaking 21:05 (Lorraine Moller, Steamboat Classic, 1995) will be $1000. There is no separate purse for Masters (40+) runners.

For more information, go to: www.steamboatclassic.orgHarroufi to defend men's title against top field at the world's fastest 4 mile road race





Tell a friend about this article
(Dont worry we won't email your friend(s) again. We send them a 1 time email)
Enter their email address(es), separated by a comma.
Enter your name:

Don't Worry: We
Back to Main Front Page
Questions, comments or suggestions?Please email the staff at [email protected]

Runner's World &
Running Times

Combined Only $22

a Year
Save $87

Running & Track and Field Posters

Search the Web



Running Shoe Savings: Nike Lunar Glide 20% Off
Super popular shoe from Nike featuring Flywire and Lunar Foam

Back To Top