PRRO Circuit Adds Pre-Competition Drug Testing In Addition To Race-Day Testing At All It’s Events

Press Release
September 11, 2015

HOLLYWOOD, FL – The PRRO Championship Circuit reaffirmed a commitment to a zero-tolerance drug policy at today’s annual Board of Directors meeting. As part of the series’ policy, the United States Anti-Doping Agency (USADA) will conduct pre-competition drug testing in addition to race-day testing at all five PRRO events.

“PRRO circuit events are leading the way in promoting a clean sport, and we hope that other major road races will follow suit,” said Don Kardong, PRRO President.

Article continues below player

The PRRO Circuit Board of Directors has been a long-time champion of a clean sport and has been conducting drug testing at events since 2006. During the 2014-2015 season, USADA conducted more than 50 tests at PRRO Circuit events.

In addition to testing, PRRO Circuit events do not extend travel or lodging to athletes who have had a major drug positive even when they are eligible to compete again.

The PRRO Circuit offers world-class competition at 5 prestigious events shorter than the marathon distance, with over $391,000 in prize money and additional bonuses. The newly added EQT Pittsburgh 10 Miler will kick off the 2015-16 series on Sunday, Oct. 25.  A list of the 2015-2016 Circuit events appears below:

EQT Pittsburgh 10 Miler, Oct. 25, 2015, Pittsburgh, PA. $26,200 in prize money. Elite athlete contact: Ryan Hogan, 412-586-7785. 2014 Men’s winner: Leonard Korir, Kenya, 46:52. Women’s winner: Sara Hall, USA, 53:47.

World’s Best 10K, Feb. 28, 2016, San Juan, Puerto Rico. Over $120,000 in prize money and bonuses. Elite athlete contact: Rafael Acosta, 787-767-2000. 2015 Men’s winner: Sammy Kirop Kitwara, Kenya, 28:51. Women’s winner: Belaynesh Oljira, Ethiopia, 31:57.

Credit Union Cherry Blossom Ten Mile, April 3, 2016, Washington, DC. $70,000 in prize money and bonuses. Elite athlete contact: Bill Orr, 863-533-0654. 2015 Men’s winner:  Stephen Sambu, Kenya, 43:30. Women’s Winner:  Mary Wacera, Kenya, 48:35.

Lilac Bloomsday Run 12K, May 1, 2016, Spokane, WA. $81,000 in prize money. Elite athlete contact: Jon Neill, 509-747-0101. 2015 Men’s winner:  Lani Rutto, Kenya, 34:22. Women’s winner:  Cynthia Limo, Kenya, 39:27.

Boilermaker 15K, July 10, 2016 (PRRO Championship on July 10, 2016), Utica, NY. $63,600 in prize money. Elite athlete contact: Dick Mattia, 315-732-1949. 2015 Men’s winner: Eliud Ngetich Kenya, 43:31. Women’s winner: Mary Wacera, Kenya, 48.49.

Race directors attending today’s Board of Directors meeting include Jim Stasaitis (Utica Boilermaker 15K), Patrice Matamoros (EQT Pittsburgh 10 Miler), Rafael Acosta (World’s Best 10K), Phil Stewart (Credit Union Cherry Blossom 10M) and Don Kardong (Lilac Bloomsday Run 12K).