Wilson Kipsang Wins 2014 London Marathon In New Course Record Of 2:04:29 – Mo Farah 8th In 2:08:21

by LetsRun.com
April 13, 2014

World record holder Wilson Kipsang pulled away from former Paris Marathon record holder Stanley Biwott just before the 40km mark and went on to take the 2014 Virgin Money London Marathon in a new course record time of 2:04:29 (former record, Emmanuel Mutai 2:04:40 from 2011) to solidify his claim on the world #1 status.

After Kipsang crossed the finish line first, the BBC declared, “He’s #1 in the world and no one can doubt it.”

Biwott ended up a well deserved second in 2:04:55.

Wilson Kipsang wins 2014 London Marathon Wilson Kipsang wins 2014 London Marathon

Two Ethiopians battled it out for third with Tsegaye Kebede outkicking Ayale Abshero in the end (2:06:30 to 2:06:31).

Article continues below player.

Only 13 seconds separated fifth through ninth and 2012 Olympic 5,000 and 10,000 champ Mo Farah was one of those runners. Farah failed to achieve his minimum pre-race goal of Steve Jones British record of 2:07:13 as he ran 2:08:21 for eighth. World junior record holder and 2014 Dubai winner Tsegaye Mekonnen was the best of the bunch in fifth.

“It was pretty tough, I’m quite disappointed,” said Farah to Jonathan Edwards of the BBC after the race. “You know you try things and they don’t work – at least you give it ago. I think I should have gone with the front group. I think it would have been nice to see the group. But life goes on.”

As expected Farah didn’t go with the leaders early on (Kipsang was 62:31 at halfway, Farah 63:08. Haile Gebselassie, was a pacemaker, and him taking it out way too fast 2:01 pace at 5k is a major story we’ll have in our full recap).

Fill out the BetterRunningShoes.com shoe survey and we will enter you into a drawing a free pair of shoes.

Despite failing to achieve his pre-race goal of the British record, Farah emphatically stated after the race that he’s got another marathon ahead of him.

“100% (I’ll do another one). I’m not going to finish it. I’m not going to finish it (the marathon) like this,” said Farah.

When asked if perhaps he should have started his marathon career with an easier choice than London, which arguably had assembled the greatest field in men’s marathon history this year, Farah said, “London, this is my city. It would be wrong to do any other marathon. I had to do it.”

Former Oklahoma State runner Ryan Vail of the US had a good day and finished 10th in a new pb of 2:10:57 (previous pb of 2:11:45).

LetsRun.com Quick Takes/Instant Analysis: Our takes on this historic race appear as a separate article: 7 Thoughts About The Men’s Race – The Great Wilson Kipsang, The Awful Haile G, Kenenisa Bekele’s Big Day And Props To Mo Farah? After recovering from some awful pacing by Haile G, world record holder Wilson Kipsang was truly special after 30km. He was the big winner today on the streets in London but it also was a great day for Kenenisa Bekele and we think for Mo Farah as well. Plus is it time for London to get rid of rabbits?

David Monti’s recap: RRW: Wilson Kipsang Wins His Second London Marathon, Sets New 2:04:29 Course Record.

The messageboard reaction to this one:

*Mo Farah finishes with both Mutais!
*Eurosport: Chris Thompson, top Britain, comes in now (REALLY?)
*Mo SMILING after finishing
*Kipsang’s shoes

Click on photos for larger photo.

Unofficial Top 18

Pos. Name Club Runner no Category Pred. Finish Pred. Daytime Diff Time
1 Kipsang, Wilson (KEN) 2 18-39 +00:00 02:04:29
2 Biwott, Stanley (KEN) 8 18-39 +00:26 02:04:55
3 Kebede, Tsegaye (ETH) 1 18-39 +02:01 02:06:30
4 Abshero, Ayele (ETH) 5 18-39 +02:02 02:06:31
5 Mekonnen, Tsegaye (ETH) 6 18-39 +03:37 02:08:06
6 Mutai, Geoffrey (KEN) 4 18-39 +03:49 02:08:18
7 Mutai, Emmanuel (KEN) 3 18-39 +03:50 02:08:19
8 Farah, Mo (GBR) 26 18-39 +03:52 02:08:21
9 Lilesa, Feyisa (ETH) 7 18-39 +03:57 02:08:26
10 Vail, Ryan (USA) 18 18-39 +06:28 02:10:57
11 Thompson, Chris (GBR) 28 18-39 +06:50 02:11:19
12 Kiprotich, Stephen (UGA) 11 18-39 +07:08 02:11:37
13 Coolsaet, Reid (CAN) 17 18-39 +09:11 02:13:40
14 Nimo, Pedro (ESP) 19 18-39 +09:46 02:14:15
15 Livesey, Ben (GBR) 29 18-39 +13:15 02:17:44
16 Tsegay, Samuel (ERI) 12 18-39 +14:41 02:19:10
17 Overall, Scott (GBR) 16 18-39 +15:26 02:19:55
18 Hagos, Yared (ETH) 25 18-39 +18:53 02:23:22

Mo Farah

Kebede was the first to push it Kebede was the first to push it
It came down to be a Kipsang and Biwott fight after 30k It came down to be a Kipsang and Biwott fight after 30k
Kipsang in the finishing straight Kipsang in the finishing straight
Wilson Kipsang wins Wilson Kipsang wins
A disappointed Mo after the race A disappointed Mo after the race
Mo finished right near a lot of marathon studs Mo finished right near a lot of marathon studs
Want More? Join The Supporters Club Today
Support independent journalism and get:
  • Exclusive Access to VIP Supporters Club Content
  • Bonus Podcasts Every Friday
  • Free LetsRun.com Shirt (Annual Subscribers)
  • Exclusive Discounts
  • Enhanced Message Boards