Steve on a cell in Brooklyn wrote:
[quote]tom sampson wrote:
Replay is up on WatchESPN, relay is around 4:35 mark. Looked to me like Florida tried to force themselves through when there wasn't space. A&M didn't move from the line she had. Pretty BS call, seriously disagree with the DQ.
A&M didn't have a right to the inside lane. I don't think a DQ was the correct call by A&M was the reason for the tangling of bodies.[/quote]
Because I don't have anything better to do, I recorded it and watched it in slow motion.
On the backstretch A&M passed Florida. She never got more than a stride lead, and she never moved inside. Going into the turn, florida started catching up slowly (she had the inside). Approaching the top of the turn, both women were in lane 1 and A&M had at most 1/2 a stride lead running on the outside of lane 1. As they approached the top of the turn, A&M's arm swing hit Florida a glancing blow in the chest. At this point they are essentially on top of each other. They ran one more full stride were the elbow again struck Florida in the chest. This time their arms got tangled together. When they disengaged, A&M had lost balanced and momentum and swung wide. Since A&M never had a lead, and Florida stayed on the rail, it was a foul.
Should it have been called or protested? I've seen many far more trivial violations than this called. Rules are rules and this one was broken. The result didn't changed but Florida could have possibly run faster setting an even stronger school record.
Note also that not only did a championship ride on this outcome, but a lot of cash as well. I have no doubt that Mouse gets a bonus for bringing home a championship trophy, so I can't blame him for protesting.