You are reporting the following post to the moderators for review and possible removal from the forum

IAAF Lane Violation Rule
RE: Should Sanya Richards-Ross be DQ? She was all over the line in the 200.
Richards-Ross didn't have to be disqualified. According to IAAF rule 163.4.b (or however it's supposed to be written, and assuming the trials were subject to IAAF rules), "[a]n athlete shall not be disqualified if he...runs outside his lane in the straight or outside the outer line of his lane on the bend, with no material advantage thereby being gained and no other athlete being obstructed."

So absent any evidence that Richards-Ross obstructed another runner as she drifted to the outside lane, it appears that she should not be disqualified.

Hit the submit button below if you want us to review the post.

If you feel this is urgent or want a reply, email us at [email protected] about the post and please include a link to the thread the post is on and what page number/post on that page it is.