(d) in races starting from a standing position, one or more competitors moves or steps
over the start line prior to the sound of the starting device, such movement can be considered accidental and not a full commencement of a start because runners in a
standing position are more prone to overbalance. Such a situation should be regarded as an unsteady start, and the competitors given a “stand up” command by the Starter, or a recall if the starting device sounded. If an competitor is pushed or jostled over
the line before the start, that competitor should not be penalized, and any competitor causing such interference may be subject to a disciplinary warning or disqualification. See Rule 162.17(c) and Rule 162.17 (d).
These are USATF rules so Wisconsin could have their own (but I’m assuming everyone follows the same starting procedures).
The way I interpret that, she wrongly DQ’d. But I’m not an official in Wisconsin so maybe they are instructed that should be a DQ.
Anyways, 2 takeaways:
1. She probably doesn’t feel like the rules don’t apply to her. She’s upset because she felt she was wronged. In a sport where this is so rare (unlike basketball where bad calls inevitably happen every game) you could see how one could be shocked and devastated. When you feel like this, you don’t exactly make well-thought out, logical decisions. So stop with this generational stuff about entitlement or her thinking rules don’t apply to her.
2. She’s still responsible for her actions and looks silly throwing a hissy fit. Now she’ll have to deal with people making fun of her and saying how terrible she is. Hopefully she understands that’s just how it is.