I haven't been able to watch a video of the fall, but I heard she assisted another runner and was assisted by another runner. Not that I have a problem with that, I think it's awesome sportsmanship, but I'm curious about the rules around that. Doesn't getting assistance DQ you from a race? It looks like she is still showing in the results. I understand how she was able to move on, through the appeal process, but I guess I expected the results to show a DNF (but still with a qualification to the final).
And if an assist isn't a dq, then wouldnâ€™t she still be able to move to the final through the appeal even if she didn't resume the race and get in the results? So was her assist or her providing assistance and then hobbling to the line even necessary? (Again, not criticizing that she did it. I actually think it is pretty cool. Good sport and tough as nails. ) Or did she need to cross the finish line to file an appeal?