2011 BUPA Great Edinburgh XC Recap: Kipchoge And Masai Triumph In The Snow Of Scotland

By LetsRun.com
January 8, 2011
*Edinburgh Photos
*2011 BUPA Great Edinburgh "Team" Race Recap: Mo Farah Over Galen Rupp, Europe Over USA

A snow-covered course made for some true cross-country at the 2011 Great Edinburgh XC Race. The chill may have been tough on spectators, but no doubt it made for great visual images on the live national television broadcast on the BBC.

Recaps of the international individual races below. Team race recap (USA vs. GB vs. Europe) here.

Men's 4km: Kipchoge's Experience Shows

Kipchoge Smiling In The Snow

The men's 4.248 km race was the first professional race of the day and featured the most credentialed men's runners. All of the African runners (3 runners from Kenya: former world 5k champ Eliud Kipchoge, 2008 Olympic 1,500m champ, Asbel Kiprop, and 2008 Olympic steeplechase champ Brimin Kipruto) were in this race, as the team race had no African teams.

The Kenyan runners were the class of the field on paper and when the real racing got underway, they showed it. Kipchoge, the most experienced on the course (he won here in 2005 and this was his sixth appearance), opened up a gap on the field during the second half of the race as he used the first time up the steep uphill and downhill on the course to pull away from the field. The lanky Kiprop, who was world junior XC champ in 2007, gave chase and was the only one to try and  stay with Kipchoge.

In the end, Kipchoge's win was not in doubt as he handled the second time up the steep uphill and downhill on the course with ease. Kiprop was able to hold off Kipruto for second by 1 second. Britain's Steve Vernon had been 3rd in this race twice before, but that was when the race was UK athletes only. He had a very impressive performance today in 4th, just two seconds back of Kipruto.

The win for Kipchoge was a good start to 2011 who became the father of his second child a month ago. The veteran was world champ back in 2003 at 5,000m, but still had the fastest time in the world in 2010 at 5k (12:51.21). Afterwards, he told the IAAF his attention in 2011 is the track World Champs.

Pos Name Club Team Time
1 Eliud  Kipchoge KEN 00:13:12
2 Asbel Kiprop KEN 00:13:18
3 Brimin Kipruto KEN 00:13:19
4 Steve Vernon Stockport Harriers GBR 00:13:21
5 Tom Lancashire Bolton United Harriers GBR 00:13:29
6 Arturo Casado ESP 00:13:37
7 Ricky Stevenson New Marske Harriers GBR 00:13:38
8 Michael Skinner Blackheath & Bromley GBR 00:13:39
9 Michael Mulhare IRE 00:13:42
10 Bruce Raeside Notts AC GBR 00:13:43
11 Ross  Millington Stockport Harriers GBR 00:13:45
12 Dan Mulhare Inverclyde IRE 00:13:52
13 Rui Silva POR 00:14:03
14 Nick McCormick Morpeth Harriers GBR 00:14:04
15 Chris Mackay Inverclyde GBR 00:14:04
16 Kristopher Gauson Edinburgh GBR 00:14:05
17 Andrew Wiles New Marske Harriers GBR 00:14:12
18 Matt Clowes Liverpool Harriers AC GBR 00:14:19
19 Doug Selman Corstorphine GBR 00:14:35
20 Ndayisenga Jean Birchfield Harriers BDI 00:14:38
21 Ben Livesey Forres AC GBR 00:14:44
22 Alex Flynn Aldershot Farnham & District IRE 00:15:10
23 Dermot Cummins Corstorphine GBR 00:15:17

Masai Triumphs

Women's 4k Race: Linet Masai Shows All That's Left For Her Is Winning World XC

The women's 5.775km race featured the reigning 5,000m and 10,000m champions, Vivian Cheruiyot and Linet Masai, and two time world junior champion Genzebe Dibaba (also the sister of world star Tirunesh Dibaba).

While Masai is a better cross-country runner (3rd, 2nd, and 2nd at the last 3 World XC Championships) than Cheruiyot, Cheruiyot has been improving in XC and she definitely had the most experience on the difficult Edinburgh course (this was her fifth time racing in Edinburgh).

Early on however, it was none of the World stars leading. Spanish marathoner Allessandra Aguilar (2:29 PR) was leading the field with Masai, Cheuiyot, Dibaba  and Brit Hattie Dean in tow. Once the real running started, however, this one was never in doubt.

Masai pulled away with ease with Cheuiyot giving chase. Cheruiyot would eventually be overtaken by Dibaba for second, but the winner was never in question. Afterwards, Masai talked to the IAAF and turned her attention to finally coming out in top at Worlds, "It was hard to run on snow, because I am not used to it. Additionally, the opposition was very strong, so I was not that confident before the race. Now I want to finally win the gold medal at the World Cross-Country Championships in March, because in the past two years I ended up with silver."

If Masai does not win World XC this year in Spain, she'll have to wait two years, as World XC is going to a bi-annual schedule after this year.

Pos Name Club Team Time
1 Linet Masai KEN 00:20:24
2 Genzebe Dibaba ETH 00:20:32
3 Vivian Cheruiyot KEN 00:20:36
4 Charlotte Purdue GBR 00:20:49
5 Hattie Dean GBR 00:21:00
6 Alessandra Aguilar ESP 00:21:13
7 Stephanie Twell GBR 00:21:24
8 Liz Yelling GBR 00:21:38
9 Gemma  Steel GBR 00:21:39
10 Emma Pallant GBR 00:22:00
11 Stevie Stockton GBR 00:22:07
12 Emilia Gorecka GBR 00:22:09
13 Louise Small GBR 00:22:10
14 Jessica Augusto POR 00:22:23
15 Beth  Potter West GBR 00:22:26
16 Kate  Avery GBR 00:22:28
17 Hannah Walker GBR 00:22:40
18 Lauren Deadman GBR 00:22:49
19 Cristina Jordan ESP 00:22:55
20 Lauren Howarth GBR 00:23:01
21 Hester Dix Scot Univ GBR 00:23:03
22 Abbey  McGhee West GBR 00:23:10
23 Emma Raven East GBR 00:23:22
24 Georgie Bruinvels GBR 00:23:24
25 Melissa Whyte North GBR 00:23:25
26 Cristiana Frumuz ROU 00:23:26
27 Elish McColgan Scot Univ GBR 00:23:28
28 Dianne  Lauder East GBR 00:23:30
29 Nicola  Hood West GBR 00:23:30
30 Josia Zakrzewski West GBR 00:23:42
31 Sarah  Inglis East GBR 00:23:51
32 Lynsey  Morrison East GBR 00:23:55
33 Christina  Rankin West GBR 00:23:57
34 Danielle Brown Scot Univ GBR 00:24:02
35 Helen  Sharpe East GBR 00:24:13
36 Laura Dunn East GBR 00:24:17
37 Michelle  Sandison West GBR 00:24:33
38 Fiona Thompson Scot Univ GBR 00:24:35
39 Catriona  Buchanan East GBR 00:24:36
40 Kara  Tait West GBR 00:24:42
41 Megan  Crawford Scot Univ GBR 00:24:47
42 Cara  Sloss West GBR 00:24:48
43 Alison Docherty East GBR 00:24:51
44 Hollie Young West GBR 00:24:56
45 Rhona Auckland East GBR 00:25:01
46 Natilie Sharpe Scot Univ GBR 00:25:03
47 Lesley  Chisholm West GBR 00:25:03
48 Jennifer  MacLean  East GBR 00:25:04
49 Moira Davie North GBR 00:25:14
50 Ruth Joss Scot Univ GBR 00:25:36

*2011 BUPA Great Edinburgh "Team" Race Recap: Mo Farah Over Galen Rupp, Europe Over USA

Disclosure: Nova International, the organizers of the Great Edinburgh race, paid for LetsRun.com's Weldon Johnson's travel and accommodations to attend the 2011 Great Edinburgh XC Race from his vacation in Spain.


Tell a friend about this article
(Dont worry we won't email your friend(s) again. We send them a 1 time email)
Enter their email address(es), separated by a comma.
Enter your name:

Don't Worry: We
Back to Main Front Page
Questions, comments or suggestions?Please email the LetsRun.com staff at suggestions@LetsRun.com.

Runner's World &
Running Times

Combined Only $22

a Year
Save $87

Running & Track and Field Posters

Search the Web
or LetsRun.com



Great Offer: Nike Lunar Glide Sale Multiple colors of this shoe available.

*Nike Air Max Moto 7 Get 2 Pairs for a Crazy $112

Back To Top