London Reveals Its 2011 Fields

Women's Field Is Called "Undoubtedly Our Strongest Ever" And Men's Field Includes 5 Sub-2:05:30 Guys

Courtesy Of The Virgin London Marathon
December 16, 2010

Reigning champions Tsegaye Kebede and Liliya Shobukhova will return to defend their Virgin London Marathon titles on Sunday 17 April next year against two of the best fields ever assembled.

Kebede became only the second Ethiopian to take the men’s 2010 crown when he beat Kenya's Emmanuel Mutai and the Moroccan Jaouad Gharib, while Liliya Shobukhova led a Russian one-two ahead of her compatriot Inga Abitova with Ethiopia's Aselefech Mergia third.

All six medal winners from 2010 will be on the Blackheath start line again next April but with six men in the field quicker than 2 hours 6 minutes, and no fewer than 14 women with sub-2:24 personal bests, gaining a podium place in 2011 will be tougher than ever.

Indeed, both lineups read like a virtual who's who of marathon running, each featuring the top five in London last year, both Olympic and world champions, World Marathon Majors champions, and recent winners in Berlin, Chicago and New York.

According to race director David Bedford, the women's field is "undoubtedly our strongest ever, "while the men's "rivals any of those we've put together in the last few years."

"We certainly expect the men's course record to be under threat again," said Bedford, "while the women's race looks likely to be one of the most competitive we’ve ever had."

Kebede's main threat will be Sammy Wanjiru, Kenya's Olympic champion, who beat the Ethiopian in a thrilling race in Chicago this October to retain his World Marathon Majors crown and secure a cool half million dollars. Wanjiru, the London winner in 2009 and runner-up in 2008, was forced to drop out this year with a knee injury and is keen to make amends in 2011.

In 2010 Kebede finished just nine seconds outside Wanjiru's course record of 2:05:10. But such is the quality of the 2011 field that the fastest PBs belong to two other Kenyans - the Rotterdam and Berlin champion Patrick Makau, fourth fastest in history with 2:04:48; and world champion Abel Kirui, fifth in London this year, who has a best of 2:05:04.

Others likely to feature in the leading pack include Ethiopian Bazu Worku, third in Berlin; Morocco's Abderrahime Bouramdane, fourth on his London debut this year; two-times New York winner Marilson Gomes dos Santos of Brazil; and Viktor Röthlin, the Swiss runner who took the European title in Barcelona in August.

Shobukhova will undoubtedly start as favourite in the women's race. She completed a brilliant year in October when she broke the Russian record to win the Chicago marathon and claim the women's World Marathon Majors prize.

Shobukhova took the London crown from Irina Mikitenko, the 2008 and 2009 champion who dropped out in 2010 after struggling with an injury. But the German will be back to challenge Shobukhova again along with 2007 champion Zhou Chunxiu, the Chinese woman who recently retained her Asian Games title.

Zhou will be joined by her compatriot, the world champion Bai Xue, while Romania's Olympic champion Constantina Dita returns for her 10th London Marathon. The 2011 race will also feature Ethiopians Bezunesh Bekele and Askale Tafa, who finished fourth and fifth respectively in 2010, and Aberu Kebede, the Berlin winner.

Edna Kiplagat, the newly-crowned New York champion, leads the Kenyan challenge supported by Mary Keitany, who was third in New York. The Dutchwoman Lornah Kiplagat, fifth in 2007 and a former world half marathon champion, returns to London for the first time for four years.

Mara Yamauchi will again carry British hopes. Runner-up in 2009, Yamauchi is hoping to make up for her disappointing 10th place this year - after an epic, energy-sapping six-day journey to avoid the volcanic ash cloud - and a below par performance in New York last month when she was 13th. The Japan-based Briton will be keen to get back on track against such a high quality international field.

London will also welcome back British Olympian Liz Yelling for the first time since 2008, while two seasoned British internationals make their marathon debuts. Yelling will be joined by her sister-in-law Hayley Yelling, the former European cross-country champion, while Jo Pavey also makes her first outing over 26.2 miles.

After an encouraging eighth place last year, Andrew Lemoncello returns in the men's race aiming to improve his personal best.

Fields for the UK championship races will be boosted by a new set of British-only time bonuses for finishers under 2:19:00 in the men's and 2:40:00 in the women's rising to an $8,000 award for sub-2:11 or sub-2:31 performances.

Elite athletes and their best marathon times
Tsegaye Kebede    ETH    2:05:18
Patrick Makau    KEN    2:04:48
Samuel Wanjiru    KEN    2:05:10
Abel Kirui    KEN    2:05:04
Bazu Worku    ETH    2:05:25
Jaouad Gharib    MAR    2:05:27
Emmanuel Mutai    KEN    2:06:15
Viktor Röthlin    SUI    2:07:23
Abderrahime Bouramdane    MAR    2:07:33
Yonas Kifle    ERI    2:07:34
José Manuel Martinez    ESP    2:08:09
Marilson Gomes dos Santos    BRA    2:08:37
Dmitry Safronov    RUS    2:10:12      
Reid Coolsaet    CAN    2:11:23
Eric Gillis    CAN    2:12:08
Dylan Wykes    CAN    2:12:39   
Cuthbert Nyasango    ZIM    2:12:40
Mike Shelley    AUS    2:13:05
Michael Aish    USA    2:13:21
Andrew Lemoncello    GBR    2:13:40
Collis Birmingham    AUS    Debut
Mohamed Trafeh    USA    Debut

Elite athletes and their best marathon times

Liliya Shobukhova    RUS    2:20:25
Zhou Chunxiu    CHN    2:19:51
Irina Mikitenko    GER    2:19:19
Constantina Dita    ROU    2:21:30
Askale Tafa    ETH    2:21:31
Inga Abitova    RUS    2:22:19
Lornah Kiplagat    NED    2:22:22
Aselefech Mergia    ETH    2:22:38
Bezunesh Bekele    ETH    2:23:09
Mara Yamauchi    GBR    2:23:12
Bai Xue    CHN    2:23:27
Mariya Konovalova    RUS    2:23:50
Xiaolin Zhu    CHN    2:23:57
Aberu Kebede    ETH    2:23:58
Yukiko Akaba    JPN    2:24:55
Edna Kiplagat    KEN    2:25:38
Magdalena Lewy Boulet    USA    2:26:22
Liz Yelling    GBR    2:28:33
Lisa Weightman    AUS    2:28:48    
Mary Keitany    KEN    2:29:01
Fiona Docherty    NZL    2:32:17
Tanith Maxwell    RSA    2:32:33
Jo Pavey    GBR    Debut
Jessica Augusto    POR    Debut
Nikki Chapple    AUS    Debut


Tell a friend about this article
(Dont worry we won't email your friend(s) again. We send them a 1 time email)
Enter their email address(es), separated by a comma.
Enter your name:

Don't Worry: We
Back to Main Front Page
Questions, comments or suggestions?Please email the staff at

Runner's World &
Running Times

Combined Only $22

a Year
Save $87

Running & Track and Field Posters

Search the Web



More Nice Offers:
Nike Lunar Glide Savings Super popular shoe from Nike featuring Flywire and Lunar Foam

*Nike Air Max Moto Sale $69.99 for this shoe from our partner.

Back To Top