Pages: | 1 | 2 | 3 |
Hadd
Hadd's bio
Lasse Viren's training to win double Oympic Gold in 1972 1/31/2003 10:08PM Reply | Return to Index | Report Post
This is offered in the same spirit as the recent info on Cruz's coach De Oliveira. (BTW, if I was a HS/college middle-distance coach in the US, I would make every effort to go the next time De Oliveira gives a clinic on 800m training. I was shocked to hear that only 10 bothered to show up in Boston recently... although some did say they were not aware it was on, and would have gone had they known).

Not too much is generally known of Viren's training (aside from "reindeer milk"). However there was once a 200-page study on the training of Finland's long distance runners (1968-1980) written by a guy called Lippo Juvala. Juvala's study looked at the training volumes and individual typical training weeks during the different yearly training periods at the start of specific training and at the time of peak performance of each athlete.
The period covered by Juvala's study represented a fruitful phase of Finnish distance running. During these 12 years the Finns collected 5 Olympic gold, one silver and two bronze medals. Three athletes set five new world records in addition to four European Championship victories and a world cross-country title.

A common question on this board is, why can today's US runner not even repeat what the top guys did in the 1980s?
Juvala considers that the success of the Finns from 1968-80 was based on.
- The emergence of many talented runners
- general enthusiasm and motivation
- good coaches
- 7-8 years of specific training following excellent many-sided physical preparation
- suitable training volume during the years of peak performances (long distance runners: 8,000-10,000 km per year)
- appropriate share of aerobic training (81-83% of total volume)