ankle injury
best running shoe to prevent ankle sprains 4/23/2012 4:01PM Reply | Return to Index | Report Post
For as long as I have been running (since 1997), I've had a problem with spraining my ankles. In both track and XC, I kept spraining my ankles. I went to PT, rested, did strengthening exercises, did a daily regimen of balance exercises (some a balance board), tried to keep it on the 'crete rather than on trails, and so on. Finally, in 2001, I had my left ankle reconstructed, and decided to quit running.

I started running again in 2010, and after about six months, sprained my ankle again. I run about 50-60mpw in the Asics GT series, in the Brooks Trance, and race 5K and up in whatever flat I have lying around.

Any thoughts on what type of running shoe (or features of a running shoe) would best decrease the likelihood of ankle sprains?
ShoeFoo
RE: best running shoe to prevent ankle sprains 4/23/2012 4:23PM - in reply to ankle injury Reply | Return to Index | Report Post
Maybe a shoe with more stability would help? I'm guessing you're a stability runner because you wear Trance. There are several hybrid trail/road shoes that could help you get a little extra stability when you run. Saucony, Saloman, pearl izumi and I think mizuno make hybrids. I've also heard a few Nike models have pretty good ankle support.
ICoach
RE: best running shoe to prevent ankle sprains 4/23/2012 4:28PM - in reply to ankle injury Reply | Return to Index | Report Post
Ankle sprains can be associated with the height of the heel on your shoes. Wearing a shoe with lower heels could lower your likelihood of ankle sprains. Good luck.
low heels
RE: best running shoe to prevent ankle sprains 4/23/2012 4:32PM - in reply to ankle injury Reply | Return to Index | Report Post
low heels, almost barefoot.

Also, plantar/dorsi flexion strength.
Another guy who runs some
RE: best running shoe to prevent ankle sprains 4/23/2012 5:27PM - in reply to ICoach Reply | Return to Index | Report Post