wants to coach
How to become a high school track and cross country coach 4/3/2011 9:32AM Reply | Return to Index | Report Post
Since I started running in high school I knew that I wanted to be a cross country coach. I am now a freshman in college (still running competitivley) and as of right now is getting a physical education major. In most cases I here you have to teach to coach, but in some cases you do not have to teach. Is there any majors out there that would give me a better chance at getting a teaching job, so I could become a coach?

Thanks for all your help.
Another Option
RE: How to become a high school track and cross country coach 4/3/2011 1:53PM - in reply to wants to coach Reply | Return to Index | Report Post
I sense this is an attempt at trolling, but if it isn't...

* Teaching is probably the best way to land a job as a cross-country coach, but it doesn't make it automatic. You have to get a teaching job at a school where they also need a cross-country coach. That really limits your options.

* The market is flooded with those who have Phys Ed majors. You will give yourself a better shot at getting a teaching job if you are certified in Math, Comprehensive Science, or Special Education.

Please do not go into teaching if you only want to coach. Your passion has to be for the success of students in your classroom.

I believe financial pressures are going to drive scholastic sports out of our schools and into club settings. Find your career passion and get on the front end of the future by developing your own club team in your spare time.
a plan
RE: How to become a high school track and cross country coach 4/3/2011 5:51PM - in reply to wants to coach Reply | Return to Index | Report Post
Major in something you'd like to teach - don't limit yourself to Phys Ed, by any means. All of my XC coaches were math teachers, and most of the coaches in our league now are math teachers (go figure). As a walk-on, I'm the odd man out.