letrundotcom
5x1 mile repeats with 1:1 work/rest ratio, 10k time? 10/22/2010 9:12AM Reply | Return to Index | Report Post
hi all im a coach, could you help me translate these workout times of my top athletes to 10k from 5x1mile repeats with 1:1 ratio on rest-so if they did it in 5min they got 5 rest before the next one.
group1) 4:40avg on 5x1mile = ???10k race time etc.
group 2) 4:45avg
group 3) 5:50avg
Is this a good workout structure? We usually have shorter rest but I thought this was a good VO2 max workout...
THANKS!
letrundotcom
RE: 5x1 mile repeats with 1:1 work/rest ratio, 10k time? 10/22/2010 9:13AM - in reply to letrundotcom Reply | Return to Index | Report Post
group 3 was 450avg, not 550, my mistake!
ukathleticscoach
RE: 5x1 mile repeats with 1:1 work/rest ratio, 10k time? 10/22/2010 9:41AM - in reply to letrundotcom Reply | Return to Index | Report Post
Rest is too long for a predictor session (ok for training still a bit long)

Say you took a miler they might finish in a certain time with all that recovery, but nowhere near the endurance to last the 10k

I would do 4 x 1 mile 90 secs. That pace gives 5km predictor add 1 min for the 10km

The actual 10km predictor would be a bit too much in training

As a coach if you have had the athletes for a while you should not be asking these sort of nonsense questions. The best way to predict is on a set session when pr set compared to the set session now. Even then if your athletes try to run to much to the clock they will usually come unstuck.
Not the OP
RE: 5x1 mile repeats with 1:1 work/rest ratio, 10k time? 10/22/2010 9:58AM - in reply to ukathleticscoach Reply | Return to Index | Report Post

ukathleticscoach wrote:
I would do 4 x 1 mile 90 secs. That pace gives 5km predictor add 1 min for the 10km

UK, Can you clarify the "add 1 min for the 10km"? Does that mean that you would estimate the 10k by multiplying the workout mile pace by 6.2 and then add another minute to the total? Thanks
TheJerk