denizen
How to run 6:30 pace for 10k (40 minutes) 11/29/2009 4:02PM Reply | Return to Index | Report Post
I am training to run 10k under 40 minutes. I am a novice runner, and I can run a 10k in 50 minutes, so I need to improve my time by about 10 minutes, which is quite a lot.

My eventual goal is to run the NYC marathon in 2010 under 3 hrs. I ran the NYC marathon about 9 years ago at 4:05, so I am looking to improve my time by A LOT.

Someone on this board suggested that I find out if I can run a 10k under 40 minutes first.. I agree that it's probably better to start there.

Is there a training program that you'd recommend? I am going to see if I can run the central park big loop (6.1 miles) every morning and see how my legs hold up.

Some info about me. I am 5' 9", 175 lbs. I was about 165 lbs when I was in college. I am 35yrs old, male.
I've been running about once a week, and I am going to run a 10k every morning. Is this the right approach to improve my time? Should I be doing some speed training also in-between? I play full court basketball twice a week for 2 hours at a time, and I am wondering if this will help or hinder my training.

Thanks for your feedback.
Smartrunner
RE: How to run 6:30 pace for 10k (40 minutes) 11/29/2009 4:35PM - in reply to denizen Reply | Return to Index | Report Post
I just got off the phone with Krista Austin-Meb Keflezighi's physiologist....she sounds pretty good-she might be able to help you out. She's going to work on a training program with me for my next few races.

Kevin
biggus dickus
RE: How to run 6:30 pace for 10k (40 minutes) 11/29/2009 4:40PM - in reply to Smartrunner Reply | Return to Index | Report Post
How about just start running and build up a base. Sounds like you want a silver bullet and instant satisfaction. At you age and goal, not likely. To start just start running some real milage (40-50/week) and then you can start thinking about getting "fancy"....
ming ding xiong