weezy f baby
What is Lance Armstrong's V02max and how does it compare other elite atheltes (ie Bekele or Geb) 7/31/2008 1:28PM Reply | Return to Index | Report Post
I am no expert on sports physiology and don't even know that much about VO2 max and oxygen intake. But i remember the other day my mom was telling me how they tested Lance Armstrong at the University of Texas and they tested his aerobic ability. I am asuming it is VO2 max or something like that. My mom (who is an idiot) was saying no one else on the planet had a level as high as his (which i highlhy doubted). Does anybody know what i am talking about?????
SMJO
RE: What is Lance Armstrong's V02max and how does it compare other elite atheltes (ie Bekele or Geb) 7/31/2008 1:54PM - in reply to weezy f baby Reply | Return to Index | Report Post
Probably everybody here does. Lance was told as a youngster that nobody had tested as high as him but later figures of his V02 max are just typical of an elite endurance athlete.
About 80-85 ml/kg.
There are several recorded higher numbers from other cyclists including Merkxx, Indurain and Lemond. Lance was unique in the percentage of max oxygen uptake he could sustain for extended periods.
But no, Lance isn't the highest ever recorded. You can bet that almost all the top endurance athletes have similar numbers. It goes with the territory.
ibeliever
RE: What is Lance Armstrong's V02max and how does it compare other elite atheltes (ie Bekele or Geb) 7/31/2008 2:07PM - in reply to SMJO Reply | Return to Index | Report Post
I heard it was a perfect 100%

I also heard he has some extra bone or something in his knee that help him pedal his bike faster.
Nordic skiing
RE: What is Lance Armstrong's V02max and how does it compare other elite atheltes (ie Bekele or Geb) 7/31/2008 2:13PM - in reply to weezy f baby Reply | Return to Index | Report Post
Nordic skiing legend Bjorn Daehlie reportedly had a 96.
Citizen Runner